Jump to content



Photo

From Ford to Ford


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Hans Chung-Otterson

Hans Chung-Otterson

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 13 November 2010 - 06:02 AM

In the Clash at the Kingsroad beginning scenario, there are two Fords in the river, and they're adjacent to each other. We were playing last night and I wanted to move from one Ford to the next, but my fellow player said that didn't make sense. I agree, it doesn't make sense (they're river crossings, and aesthetically don't connect on the board), but the rules for Fords don't say anything about not being able to move directly from one Ford downriver to the next, if they're adjacent. Can I do this?



#2 KenToad

KenToad

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 27 December 2010 - 11:05 AM

I think you can and the fords are meant to fill the entire hex, even though the actual markers don't.



#3 Konrad von Richtmark

Konrad von Richtmark

    Member

  • Members
  • 74 posts

Posted 30 December 2010 - 12:46 AM

Yes, you can. Fords aren't defined as passable in only one direction or anything like that. The only situation where direction matters is with roads, where you gain the movement bonus only by moving in the actual direction of the road.

It's not valid to invoke aesthetics in an argument like that, there's bound to be some aesthetic aberrations when the same pieces are used to assemble many different battlefields. If you want to invoke realism, I'd say the two ford hexes would actually represent one large ford rather than two separated small ones.



#4 Mancini

Mancini

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 30 December 2010 - 06:15 AM

I have the same opinion of Ken Toad and of Konrad (and i tink of them as beeing quit expert on this issues :P)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS