Jump to content



Photo

Questions after my first game.


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Referee

Referee

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 12:43 PM

OK, I got to play this game on the 28th, 3 players, and had a great time. I have some questions, though.

- Rachel starts her turn with two cards in hand. Floyd plays "Slow down and tell me what happened" on her, moving her to NAPD and discard her light cards (further reducing her hand to one card). Raymond then plays "This doesn't look good", getting her into a fight and ending her turn. Is that sequence of events legal? It was quite a blow for Rachel, because it was Day 3 of the first week, and his 2-0 A Friend In Need plot became 2-2 and resolved negatively, ultimately forcing her to spend all of Day 6 sacrificing time to fix that plot (and incidentally his money problems for the second half of the game).

- Can Raymond move a lead from a different color with "I think we overlooked something there" or "Hmm, I've got a hunch"?

- If all the shift pieces of the conspiracy have been uncovered, and you uncover the favor piece that let's you uncover an additional shift piece, are you out of luck?

Thanks. This is a great game. Looking forward to next game!!



#2 thirdpoliceman

thirdpoliceman

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 01:47 PM

Referee said:

 

OK, I got to play this game on the 28th, 3 players, and had a great time. I have some questions, though.

- Rachel starts her turn with two cards in hand. Floyd plays "Slow down and tell me what happened" on her, moving her to NAPD and discard her light cards (further reducing her hand to one card). Raymond then plays "This doesn't look good", getting her into a fight and ending her turn. Is that sequence of events legal? It was quite a blow for Rachel, because it was Day 3 of the first week, and his 2-0 A Friend In Need plot became 2-2 and resolved negatively, ultimately forcing her to spend all of Day 6 sacrificing time to fix that plot (and incidentally his money problems for the second half of the game).

 

 

I think as long as all the light shifting was done properly then this would be a legal play.  Definitely a destructive combo.  I guess keeping Rachel's twilight had full is a good idea.

Referee said:

 

- Can Raymond move a lead from a different color with "I think we overlooked something there" or "Hmm, I've got a hunch"?

 

 

I don't think Raymond could move a lead from a different color with either card.  So, if he is on blue and wants to move a yellow lead to his position he can not do this as he must still follow the rules for moving a lead.

Referee said:

 

- If all the shift pieces of the conspiracy have been uncovered, and you uncover the favor piece that let's you uncover an additional shift piece, are you out of luck?

 

 

When this happened when we played we played that you were out of luck.  The rules for "Place a Bonus Puzzle Piece" on page 24 do not mention anything about shifting up or down to other peices if there are no pieces of the correct type left.  I see this as one reason to dig deeper into the conspiracy.  You may get a bonus piece with one of the later pieces but there must still be pieces left for you to draw.



#3 Saramund

Saramund

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 02 January 2009 - 04:40 AM

Referee said:

OK, I got to play this game on the 28th, 3 players, and had a great time. I have some questions, though.

- Rachel starts her turn with two cards in hand. Floyd plays "Slow down and tell me what happened" on her, moving her to NAPD and discard her light cards (further reducing her hand to one card). Raymond then plays "This doesn't look good", getting her into a fight and ending her turn. Is that sequence of events legal? It was quite a blow for Rachel, because it was Day 3 of the first week, and his 2-0 A Friend In Need plot became 2-2 and resolved negatively, ultimately forcing her to spend all of Day 6 sacrificing time to fix that plot (and incidentally his money problems for the second half of the game).

I'm not sure you can use both together. Rules say only one dark card and one light card may be played in response to a single event (Rachel starting her turn). If Rachel moves entering in another location, then, I'm sure you can play This Doesn't Look Good against her.

Referee said:

- Can Raymond move a lead from a different color with "I think we overlooked something there" or "Hmm, I've got a hunch"?

Well, rules say card takes precedence whenever they contradicts a general rule, but I think you have to move it according to the lead type color.

One reason is that afterwards all the game wlll be affected, and another reason is that the contradiction here is the opportunity to move a lead, not how.

Referee said:

- If all the shift pieces of the conspiracy have been uncovered, and you uncover the favor piece that let's you uncover an additional shift piece, are you out of luck?

Thanks. This is a great game. Looking forward to next game!!

Correct, out of luck.



#4 thirdpoliceman

thirdpoliceman

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 January 2009 - 10:29 AM

The reason I thought the two cards could be played is the first card moves Rachel to another location, so she is now entering a location and triggers the second card.



#5 Referee

Referee

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 02 January 2009 - 04:31 PM

That was our reasoning, too. Sorry, Rachel. (But try not to get into fights at NAPD)



#6 El-Adoran Sureshot

El-Adoran Sureshot

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 January 2009 - 07:06 PM

Referee said:

- Can Raymond move a lead from a different color with "I think we overlooked something there" or "Hmm, I've got a hunch"?

I think he can. Nowhere in the rules does it state that the colors on the backs of the leads mean anything. (I think.) They're very useful reminders, but Raymond can mess them up. Presumably those effects are rare enough that everyone can keep track of them without creating too many memory issues.

I tend to not pay much attention to the color of the lead anyway, since I always get tripped up by the fact that all the physical leads look red.



#7 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 02:47 AM

I think the color is just there as a reminder during set-up.  I store all my pieces for each detective together so it is easy to ID which leads go to which detectives.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS