• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Emirikol

Emirikol

~Ĉiam subskribi antaŭ-nup kun Fimir

• Members
  • 5,083 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 10:39 AM

I got a little spendthrifty today and picked up a couple terrain bits.  Since Empire is so forested and so many scenarios take place in cities/towns as murder mysteries, I always keep some buildings and trees around and pick up peasants when I find them (Reaper and Scene Setters).

I'm not good at painting the buildings however. Just painting the toll house that comes with the tower was a chore.   Thankfully CONFLIX has prepainted buildings.

In regards to game play, I typically just drop the card down wherever the engagement is, but I was thinking of making a battle standard that can hold the card to mark engagement areas.

Any of you have any thoughts on mini's and terrain to make your games more visual?

jh

#2 schoon

schoon

• Members
  • 468 posts

Posted 07 November 2010 - 05:51 PM

Well, given that WFRP3 uses abstract distance measurement, it actually makes it easier to use terrain (either from the tabletop game, or from any other source.

However, the sheer number of possible locations does make storing said terrain a challenge (even if many of the items can double as several possible locations).

I'm a bit fan of using visual elements in games, so I'm all for this.

I'd say that the Watchtower (or something like it) would most likely give you the most bang for your buck, and that some sort of manor- or couch-house would be a close second.

#3 ErrantThought

ErrantThought

• Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 08 November 2010 - 09:50 AM

While I do like some of the plastic scenery they do take up a lot of room, however the new Dreadstone Blight looks intriguing.