I seem to remember reading somewhere that the CCG cards work along with the new LCG format. Is this true? Does anyone use the old CCG cards with the LCG format? Are there rules differences between the CCG and LCG? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks.
Do the CCG cards really work with the LCG?
Posted 05 November 2010 - 10:34 AM
Yes and no. Some of the old mechanics don't work with the new. Most of my decks are a mix of old and new. Some old cards are rather powerful and for awhile I was playing new cards against someone who played with just old cards and it was not fun. If you are thinking of getting old sets search for a card database and figure out what you want to get. If you are thinking about playing in tournaments make sure to remember that a lot of the old cards are not legal but you can always play highlander in legacy.
Posted 06 November 2010 - 11:40 AM
As Githanas said, very few of the CCG cards are legal in the LCG environment (only those that are direct reprints, and you have to be careful because some cards went through wording modifications or has a trait or icon change, so they are not legal). But you can intermix the cards into a workable deck. I built a Legacy Highlander deck (Legacy allows cards from all sets, LCG and CCG, and Highlander means limit of one copy per card by name in the deck) and it uses cards from both generation of the game. My brother and his wife play alot of "mixed" games as well, so when they show up to play I have to adjust my strategies because I may come across some threats that aren't in LCG.
The CCG cards can be somewhat more powerful, but that is mostly because there were 16 full set expansions prior to the LCG change-over. And some cards were overpowered even in those days (especailly rare cards, which was half the point of rares in a collectible game). But as for playability, the sets can be intermixed. It's just when it comes to tournament play that you'll find most CCG cards useless because they are not allowed except in the Legacy format.
Posted 22 November 2010 - 07:23 AM
Can i use Salladhor Saan (Legacy) and Marya Seaworth (Iron Throne Edition) in the LCG?
Salladhor Saan (Legacy)
Marshalling: kneel to choose a location. Discard that location from play.
Salladhor Saan (King of the Storm)
Marshalling: Kneel Salladhor Saan to choose and discard 1 location from play.
Marya Seaworth(King of the Storm)
Any Phase: Kneel Marya Seaworth to choose and stand 1 character.
Marya Seaworth(Iron Throne Edition)
Any Phase: Kneel Marya Seaworth to choose and stand a character.
Posted 22 November 2010 - 11:16 AM
If they are exact copies of the card in the Bara "Kings of the Storm" expansion (and I think they are, though I don't have the actual cards in front of me to compare), then the answer is Yes. And if there are minor changes (mostly wording related, if any, in these cases) then they would still likely be useable at the local, non-tournament level.
Posted 24 November 2010 - 06:55 AM
Ok, so because in Marya Seaworth's text the "stand a character" change for "stand 1 character" I cannot play the Iron Throne Edition.
It's a little hard