We're not gamers, but we've loved dipping into the complexity of this wonderful game. You'll be amused to hear that our games are running well over five hours, as we consult the instructions, it seems, repeatedly on each turn.
We have stumbled onto what is probably a stupid issue that I haven't seen addressed on these boards. After the jump, are the Basestar and Civilian Ships set up once again. We learn to clear "all ships" after a jump, but we see no way for these "ships" to return to the board. We've been assuming that after each jump, these are replaced on the game board, as they are before the inital setup. Is that assumption correct? Any idea where this is stated in the rules?
Thanks much! Terrific experience and impressively close in logic to the series.