Jump to content



Photo

Richard Finchington III - Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rosh87

Rosh87

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 06:50 AM

This guy  is a fairly interesting Syndicate character from the old Ancient Horrors set.   He only costs 2, and features the  usual crappy Syndicate Icon distribution (1-Arcane - yawn)....but has a potentially powerful ability (ruins Birds / Dogs / etc) - in that while he is in play, the following ability is in effect (passive):   

Forced Response: When a Monster or Creature character comes into play, it loses all (Terror) icons until the end of the phase, and it immediately goes insane.

---------------------

Here's the question.....what if a character, for whatever reason, had BOTH  - Terror Icons ....AND the Willpower keyword ?

What would happen if that character was put into play (from hand, or otherwise) - while Richard Finch was in play for the opponent.... ?    Okay..so the character would lose his Terror Icons...but....what about its Willpower ?  Nothing is removing that - yet Richard Finch's text says merely that they lose the Terror - then immediately go insane.   

I would think there would be no effect on a character with BOTH Willpower - AND - Terror - but thought I'd check here.  

(note this is a highly theoretical question- and might rarely / ever ?? - happen in an actual game)



#2 KallistiBRC

KallistiBRC

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 07:02 AM

In that case, it would not go insane since nothing removes the willpower.    It would still lose the terror icon but thats it.



#3 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 08:43 AM

 Yes, Willpower would stop the insanity.  And a more likely scenario is a creature/monster that has Willpower without any terror icons  (there is no "then" in the ability, only "and".)



#4 Rosh87

Rosh87

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 10:56 AM

Good points on both replies.   :-)    Thanks for confirming my initial thoughts on it guys.  



#5 Danigral

Danigral

    Member

  • Members
  • 804 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 07:47 AM

Just want to make sure about this:

Say Finchington is in play, and my opponent tries to play or put into play a Many-Angled Thing. According to the FAQ, Forced Responses trigger before Responses, so would it be driven insane and hence not be able to trigger its reponse first (i.e. it would have an opportunity to trigger before its insane)?



#6 AUCodeMonkey

AUCodeMonkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 228 posts

Posted 14 December 2012 - 10:16 AM

Yes, it would be driven insane first before its Response could be triggered.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS