Jump to content



Photo

New Player with Questions.


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Clinthulhu

Clinthulhu

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 04:24 AM

Hi everybody! Nice to meet ya!

I've only been playing Call of Cthulhu LCG for a few days now so it stands to reason I have a few questions that I can't seem to find a rule for so I figured I would ask you fine people who know more about it then I do.

First Question...

Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I ether can't find a rule for this or have missed it completely.

Second...

When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain?

Third...

During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card.

Now here is where the questions comes in.

Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle?

In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story?

It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct?

Thanks in advance for clearing this up for me. Like I said I can't find anything that really explains this so I figured it was best to ask.

-Clinthulhu



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,285 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 08:51 AM

Clinthulhu said:

 

First Question...

Some cards have Faction Icons before the Card Title... For example card (F 105) Fishers from Outside has two Yog-Sothoth "keys" before the name. What do these mean? I ether can't find a rule for this or have missed it completely.

 

Steadfast, page 12 in the rules.

Clinthulhu said:

Second...

 

When Draining a Domain to bring a card into play. Does the entire cost of the card need to come from one domain or can I Drain 2 or more to bring the card out? For example... the card costs 5 to bring out. Domain A has 3 Resources and Domain B has 2 Resources. Can I Drain both to bring out the card or does the entire cost have to come from a single Domain?

 

For a cost 5 you need 1 domain with 5 resources, can't combo domains.

Clinthulhu said:

Third...

 

During the Icon Struggle... At one point I was the Active Player and I commited 1 card to a story, my opponent only applied 1 card as well. My card had 2 Combat Icons, his only had 1 Combat Icon. So his character took a wound which killed the card.

Now here is where the questions comes in.

Does the card immediately die and go to the discard pile or does that happen at the end of the Icon Struggle? The reason I ask is because both of our cards had Arcane Icon and Investigation Icons on them so. If his card dies and goes to discard does that mean that I win an extra Token during the Investigation Struggle?

In this case as well, when you Resolve the Struggle is it considered Unchallenged now because their aren't any opposing cards at the story?

It seems to me that in this case I would win 3 Tokens for this story card. 1 for the Investigation Struggle and two for the story not being contested. Is this correct?

 

Yes, he dies immediately and if you have Investigation, in that situation you'd get 3 tokens. Kinda silly of him to commit his 1 Combat character when yours had 2 Combat .


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Clinthulhu

Clinthulhu

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 28 October 2010 - 09:07 AM

Thanks for taking the time to answer these!

As for the 3rd question. It was really only our second attempt at the game and we were both just going over the steps of Icon Struggles. It was basically the only card he had out that he could play so he just put it on there to cause the Icon Struggle which brings us full circle to the question that came up regarding how that would be resolved.

Thanks again for the help!



#4 Blutsteigen

Blutsteigen

    Member

  • Members
  • 119 posts

Posted 23 November 2010 - 03:29 PM

I have a question as well, I want to make sure we are playing correctly:

 

the active player commits to a story. he exhausts his characters if applicable.

 

The other player responds with two character cards. Are they exhausted as well, or just the "attacking" player?



#5 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,044 posts

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:31 PM

Blutsteigen said:

 

The other player responds with two character cards. Are they exhausted as well, or just the "attacking" player?

Yes, they are exhausted as well. This is true regardless if you are the defender or the attacker.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS