Jump to content



Photo

about discarding blip pile when travelling


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Reju

Reju

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 25 October 2010 - 07:58 PM

Hello.

My question isn't about misunderstanding the rule, but rather about understanding the point of this rule.

The rulebook clearly says that when travelling, you must first discard all the blips remaining in both blip piles, then refill both of them as instructed on the new location.

But what if we simply add or  to each pile the number of blip required to have the good number of blip ?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 25 October 2010 - 08:11 PM

You're then more unlikely to travel in the next location and the next location, since you keep increasing the piles, making it harder to empty them. And if your final location is Toxic Pumping Station, ouch, since to with there, you need to clear out formation AND both blip piles.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Reju

Reju

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 25 October 2010 - 08:40 PM

no, no.

I give an example, it will be more understandable :

 

situation : end of a phase, right blip pile : 3 blips remaining, left blip pile 0 blip remaining, so it's time to travel.

the new location card says : 6 blips on the right, 6 blips on the left.

 

following the rules word by word, I would have to discard the 3 remaining blips in the Right pile, then fill both piles with 6 new blips.

 

my question : why can't we just add 3 blips to the right pile (making 3+3=6 as required) and 6 to the left pile (making 6 too as required) ?

 



#4 muk

muk

    Member

  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 25 October 2010 - 09:20 PM

I don't understand that either, and I usually just add the missing ones.

Maybe they want you to go through the whole deck more often. In case someone counts that all the "claw gs" are already gone, and I know that next card only moves claws (thanks to the scout abillity) so now I know that nothing will move.



#5 DagobahDave

DagobahDave

    Laser Brain

  • Members
  • 1,236 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 11:17 AM

Reju said:

 

But what if we simply add or  to each pile the number of blip required to have the good number of blip ?

 

 

I do that. It doesn't really matter.

Also, any time I'm instructed to discard a Genestealer card that hasn't been face-up yet, I just put it at the bottom of the Genestealer deck instead.


Join the Unofficial X-Wing Galactic Campaign and propel your favorite faction toward victory every time you play!

 


#6 Brynjolf Irontooth

Brynjolf Irontooth

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 02 November 2010 - 12:33 AM

I just add as well. If 3 are left and I need 6 on that side, I just add 3.



#7 Jef

Jef

    Member

  • Members
  • 61 posts

Posted 10 November 2010 - 10:09 PM

It is needed when you refill a blip stack with the blue team M/A Intimidation, so you don't know which kind of GS are coming. If you aren't using that team or that action, there's no point in discarding the blips.



#8 LordZon

LordZon

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 15 November 2010 - 08:45 AM

I too, just add them.  It's easier and there are only 4 types of genestealers anyway.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS