Jump to content



Photo

Double back again


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Zozimus

Zozimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 306 posts

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:30 PM

We still haven't finished a game....seems to take a long time, maybe because we don't know the rules well yet.  Can you, for example, double back to a sea location? 


Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play. - Heraclitus


#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,502 posts

Posted 22 October 2010 - 01:46 PM

No, he may not. If you cross-check the rules (pag. 10, first column, point 3), it is stated than Dracula may not use any of his powers while at sea:

"3. Dracula cannot use any of his Powers while at sea. He is weakened while crossing running water and cannot call upon his most potent abilities. This effectively restricts him from backtracking or staying in place at sea"

So no double back, sorry! As far as the game length is concerned.. well, usually the first games are always a little longer, since you have to get all the rules. Usually a "normal" game (I mean, no bad luck for Dracula or the Hunters) takes 2-3 hours to be completed


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 22 October 2010 - 07:53 PM

I think he might've been talking about Sea-Land-Double Back to Sea scenario. Dracula has landed, so can once again use his Powers.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,502 posts

Posted 23 October 2010 - 12:51 AM

Uops! Sorry, I missed the point. Yeah, no probs to double back a sea zone from the port you are in!


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#5 Zozimus

Zozimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 306 posts

Posted 23 October 2010 - 10:32 AM

Yeah, that's how it happened:  I had to double back from a port to a sea location, since otherwise I wouldn't be able to move.  It was also a port location that I'd hidden in last turn...actually, this brings me to another question:   several turns later, the hunters played a card which allowed them to reveal my oldest location, which was the "hide" card.  My location (Cagliari) had just dropped off the end of the board.  Was I obliged to tell them what the location was, or just to let them know that I had hidden in a location for an extra turn?  Thanks, by the way, for the earlier answer!   


Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play. - Heraclitus


#6 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,502 posts

Posted 23 October 2010 - 11:05 AM

If I understand correctly your question, you have the Hide card as a sixth card on your trail. This is something that can never happen. Let's say you're in Venice and in the following round you played Hide. As soon as the location card (Venice) drops off your Track, then you have to reveal the Hide card, and even this card drops off the Trail.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#7 Zozimus

Zozimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 306 posts

Posted 23 October 2010 - 05:48 PM

Whoops! Missed that rule.  Thanks:  I guess it'll take a few playthroughs.   


Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play. - Heraclitus


#8 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,678 posts

Posted 01 November 2010 - 02:53 AM

When the location you were hiding in drops off the trail, you must reveal and remove the Hide card as well, as Julia said.  However, if memory serves me there are still ways that a location can be revealed which ends up being the Hide card (while it and your location are still on the trail.)  IIRC - and it has been a long time since I played Fury - in that case you are only required to reveal the Hide card.  So the hunters end up knowing you're laying low, but they may not know exactly where.

Someone might want to double check that I'm not imagining things though, as I say it has been a long time.



#9 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,502 posts

Posted 01 November 2010 - 12:59 PM

Steve, you're definitely right. An example for this is the following FAQ:

Q: What if Dracula’s Trail consist of only one location card, then Dracula plays Hide, and then a Hunter plays Newspaper Reports?
A: Newspaper Reports cannot reveal Dracula’s current location. To prove that the oldest card in his Trail is his current location and therefore cannot be revealed, the Dracula player should reveal the Hide card instead.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#10 Ruvion

Ruvion

    Member

  • Members
  • 758 posts

Posted 02 November 2010 - 04:38 AM

A tricker situation could be as follows, if memory serves:

When Hypnotism hits, you (Dracula player) Sensational Press your current location then Hide. This should prevent your location from being revealed other than giving away that you are hiding in an unrevealed location. Haven't played in years and don't have the game in front of me, but this should fly.



#11 Byga

Byga

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 21 October 2011 - 04:04 AM

Julia said:

Uops! Sorry, I missed the point. Yeah, no probs to double back a sea zone from the port you are in!

When you Double Back to a Sea Zone (provided that I'm in a port by it) I have to pay one blood for the embarking, right? Only in this way it can be considered a legal move I think...



#12 Taurmindo

Taurmindo

    Member

  • Members
  • 225 posts

Posted 23 October 2011 - 11:59 PM

Byga said:

When you Double Back to a Sea Zone (provided that I'm in a port by it) I have to pay one blood for the embarking, right? Only in this way it can be considered a legal move I think...

yes, you still have to pay blood for starting a new sea trip.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS