Jump to content



Photo

Rules Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Preston Poulter

Preston Poulter

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 10:12 AM

 If an investigator ends his movement in a space with both a monster and a gate, does he fight the monster then go through the gate?

If it's more than one monster, does he fight each in turn?



#2 Preston Poulter

Preston Poulter

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 10:20 AM

 For that matter, if you are in a space with a explored gate, do you resolve an encounter?



#3 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 5,545 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 01:25 PM

Preston Poulter said:

 If an investigator ends his movement in a space with both a monster and a gate, does he fight the monster then go through the gate?

If it's more than one monster, does he fight each in turn?

Dealing with monsters is something happening during Phase 2 - Movement, while entering a gate happens only during Phase 3 - Arkham encounters. So, whenever you enter a location with a monster and a gate, you have to deal with the monster first. Then, when it's again your turn during Phase 3, you can enter the gate. Beware that this sequence of events is the other way round if a gate and a monster appear as a result of an AE: in this case, the gate is the first thing to appear, and thus the investigator is sucked in and delayed as soon as the gate forms. Then, as last thing, you spawn a monster.

In case you have more than one monster on the gate, when you enter that location you have to deal with all of them (this means evade or winning the fight) before you can enter the gate


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 5,545 posts

Posted 13 October 2010 - 01:26 PM

Preston Poulter said:

 For that matter, if you are in a space with a explored gate, do you resolve an encounter?

As a general rule, a gate replaces the location, so you do not resolve any encounter at any location if there is an open gate there.

PS: if possible, try to post these questions on the main forum, you'll receive an answer in really a short time! Sub-forums are not so often checked by many of us ::smiling::


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS