Jump to content



Photo

Secret Door across the Chasm?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mpokorny

mpokorny

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 11:12 AM

 

Your hero enters a Chasm Chamber.  Upon drawing, the Dungeon Card pulled is a "Secret Door".  

Are you able to cross the Chasm by virtue of the secret door?

 

The Chasm Chamber states "...On your next turn, you may only exit through a passage on the same side of the Chasm that you entered from. ..."

Secret Door cards says "You may immediately move to any adjacent space. ..."  

 

As written, it seems that it is allowed as the chasm doesn't take effect until "your next turn" and the secret door is "immediate".  

Opinions?

 

--mike 

 



#2 argente

argente

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 06:25 PM

In fact, the chasm is a dungeon chamber but with the special effect that it impedes movement across the line drawn in the tile.  It refers to normal movement.  If you move by other means, it is not impeded. 

But,.. the secret door allows you to move to an adjacent space, so you move out of the chasm tile.   And, yes, IMHO it allows you to move to ANY adjacent space, including those beyond the line of the chasm.



#3 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,333 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 09:01 PM

Argente is correct. You may move out of the Chasm tile into any adjacent space, regardless of the instructions for the Chasm tile (which are ignored in this case)!

Ell.



#4 blumax1981

blumax1981

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 26 September 2010 - 07:41 AM

With the magical nature of Secret Doors, they would supersede the directional limitations of the chasm. One could add the exit via Secret Door in any legal direction.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS