Jump to content



Photo

One Marine Left.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 D Hall

D Hall

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 September 2010 - 11:30 AM

If  you only have one Space Marine left, do all the swarms and terrain cards move onto him?



#2 Tim Huckelbery

Tim Huckelbery

    Member

  • Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 18 September 2010 - 11:35 AM

D Hall said:

If  you only have one Space Marine left, do all the swarms and terrain cards move onto him?

I'd guess so. One way or another the game is about to end soon :)

-Tim



#3 wikear

wikear

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 24 September 2010 - 01:03 PM

Well you will get two locations, one on each side of him and they would be the lowest numbers on the Location card. Then yes, GS spawn on both of his sides (front and back), as long as an Event card tells you so.



#4 OniNoTed

OniNoTed

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 04:39 AM

Yes, you would have all terrain cards and genestealers.  Also,  if you do travel to the next location, all new terrain cards would be on the one marine.  Poor Marine.



#5 wikear

wikear

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 05:28 AM

So what? Four Terrain cards on one Space Marine? How? :P



#6 OniNoTed

OniNoTed

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 02:11 PM

The way I understand is from page 26, the last paragraph.

" If the number exceeds the number of the space marines remaining in the formation, then the terrain card is placed in the last valid position."

 Since there is only one marine, he is the last and only valid position. 

Also, on page 28, is states:

 "When shifting note that it is possible for more than one terrain card to be in the same position."

So, I'm assuming (I know about assuming) that it is possible to have more than one terrain card at a position when setting up after a travel.



#7 wikear

wikear

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 25 September 2010 - 10:09 PM

Makes sense... very well spotted.



#8 mixykym

mixykym

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 28 September 2010 - 04:39 AM

when travelling all previous terrain cards are removed,(page 26).

so a lone marine who travels will only start with two terrain UNLESS during terrain placement you can put BOTH left and right side terrain cards on him.

when SHIFTING FORMATION it states that its possible a SM can have more than one terrain card on each side.

but is this different to SETTING UP terrain cards ?

mike



#9 DagobahDave

DagobahDave

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,034 posts

Posted 28 September 2010 - 05:22 AM

mixykym said:

 

so a lone marine who travels will only start with two terrain UNLESS during terrain placement you can put BOTH left and right side terrain cards on him.

when SHIFTING FORMATION it states that its possible a SM can have more than one terrain card on each side.

but is this different to SETTING UP terrain cards ?

 

 

It's no different when setting up Terrain cards at a new location. If you read the game setup rules (step 7, on page 8) it directs you to the "Place Terrain Cards" rules on page 26.

On page 26, that's where we find the rule stating "If the number [of the Terrain card's position] exceeds the number of Space Marines remaining in the formation, then the Terrain card is placed in the last valid position."

So if you have only 1 Marine when traveling to a new location, all of the new terrain cards get placed on his position.


Join the Unofficial X-Wing Galactic Campaign and propel your favorite faction toward victory every time you play!

 


#10 Brynjolf Irontooth

Brynjolf Irontooth

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 12 October 2010 - 03:16 AM

I totally agree here.

When you only have 1 marine left, all 4 pieces of terrain are moved to him (2 on each side) and all Genestealers are swamping him (all GS that were on some marines left are now on your lone marines left, and all GS that were on some marines right are now on the right of your lone marine).

Poor him indeed. :D






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS