Can Trolls Cast Spells?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 GreenWizard

GreenWizard

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 September 2010 - 10:59 AM

I am new to DQ and so far find it to be a lot of fun. My only confusion so far is that heros/monsters gain abilities during combat that they may not normally have? Why would a troll be able to use a magic card from the combat deck?  Is there something I am missing?

#2 Siphonen

Siphonen

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 04 September 2010 - 12:16 PM

Yes, trolls can cast spells, to be exact anyone can use any combat card from his/her hand.

What defines each enemy and hero besides the attributes are the selection of power cards - each one have their own selection of these that they randomly choose in the beginning of their very first round in a combat.

#3 GreenWizard

GreenWizard

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 September 2010 - 03:45 PM

Siphonen said:

Yes, trolls can cast spells, to be exact anyone can use any combat card from his/her hand.

What defines each enemy and hero besides the attributes are the selection of power cards - each one have their own selection of these that they randomly choose in the beginning of their very first round in a combat.

Thanks for your reply.

I did see in the directions about the power cards and that according to the directions everyone can use any card from the combat deck. It's just that traditionally certain characters would only act a certain way. They describe trolls as powerful and clumsy. I image them as not having the intelligence to use spells. Or maybe Gherin being a cleric would mainly cast spells and maybe a little melee when necessary. I can certainly see past this for the fun of the game it just caused me to pause for a second and wonder why the game would go this way.

#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

• Members
  • 4,606 posts

Posted 06 September 2010 - 01:16 AM

GreenWizard said: