Jump to content



Photo

Counter-attack's and Deathblows


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dimzer

Dimzer

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 03:30 AM

Ok, situtation came up during a 2 player game last night, and despite my attempts after the fact, can't seem to find a straight forward answer to my question.  That being the case, I'm looking for someone to point out my ignorance, or a ruling by the masses.

Question 1: Counter Attacks

Suppose both player play their initial attack card with same attack value, and symetrically opposite attack/counter attack types. 

For example, Player A plays a 2 Melee(attack) / Ranged (counter), and
                         Player B plays a 2 Ranged(attack) / Melee (Counter).

The rules seem "clear" that in this case, the attack values are same, attack types differ, so counter-attacks are possible by both players, forwhich all of their printed examples show the cases of a single player being able to counter.

It also seems clear, that each will only be able to play a single counter-attack card, due to the fact that any card value will exceed the opponents intial attack value (since both were equal to start in this case) thus stoping future counter cards from being played this round. 

Question is, is this done in the same "facedown" manner, 1 card at a time, or if face up, simultaneously?  Or worse, one at a time, and if the latter, who goes first?

We housed-ruled for the time being, since it's forced to a single card, to do it face down, merely for dramatics if for nothing else.

Question 2: Deathblows

According to the rules:
"If the winner of a round plays a card matching the attack type of any card(s) of the combat stack, this results in a deathblow. When a deathblow occurs, the winner of the round takes all of the cards in the combat stack with the same attack type as the attack type of the card he played and adds them to his opponent’s damage stack."

Assuming the same scenario as above, which is considered "The Card" that is used to determine matching attack type in the combat stack? Any of "the cards" that have been played, ie, during a counter-attack?  The first attack card played? The last counter-attack cards attack type?

We housed ruled "the card" to be the last one played for no particular reason other than dramatic "the final blow".  Though a compelling argument could be made for the first card as well.  We certainly felt it should be limited to a single card vs, all cards played though that too came under scruitiny as they collectively were "a card played", as that would have created HUGE HUGE swings in combat.

 

 

 

 

 



#2 Siphonen

Siphonen

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 03:43 AM

1. The counter attack mechanic is a rock-paper-scissor style. Yellow counter Blue, Blue counter Red, Red counter yellow.

Red = Melee, Blue = Ranged, Yellow = Magic. It's impossible for Melee to counter Ranged as far I've seen unless it's some form of a special ability written on a power card.

 

2. When you win a combat round, and make a deathblow, you take up only the cards that is already in the combat stack. The cards that are currently played in that combat round will not be used for the current deathblow. Once the deathblow has been resolved the loser will put their cards in the combat stack.

In the rulebook you will find this line under Deathblow, "Deathblows are resolved before the loser of a combat round places his card on the combat stack" - Rulebook, Deathblow, Page 17.



#3 Dimzer

Dimzer

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 04:08 AM

Siphonen said:

1. The counter attack mechanic is a rock-paper-scissor style. Yellow counter Blue, Blue counter Red, Red counter yellow.

Red = Melee, Blue = Ranged, Yellow = Magic. It's impossible for Melee to counter Ranged as far I've seen unless it's some form of a special ability written on a power card.

Thanks for pointing that out, didn't bother to look at ALL the cards after being sorted to see if this possibility even could occur, which it cannot, and your explanation helps make that more "realistic"

Siphonen said:

2. When you win a combat round, and make a deathblow, you take up only the cards that is already in the combat stack. The cards that are currently played in that combat round will not be used for the current deathblow. Once the deathblow has been resolved the loser will put their cards in the combat stack.

In the rulebook you will find this line under Deathblow, "Deathblows are resolved before the loser of a combat round places his card on the combat stack" - Rulebook, Deathblow, Page 17.

I understood about the resolution occurring before the loosers cards are place in the stack, the question was about which CARD was used in MATCHING the cards in the combat stack? i.e.

  • Very First card played in the round (aka the Attack Card)
  • Very Last card played in the round (aka the Counter-Attack cards)
  • Both cards (the Attack Card AND the Counter-Attack Cards' main attack type)

 



#4 DoomTurtle

DoomTurtle

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 05:08 AM

Dimzer said:

 

I understood about the resolution occurring before the loosers cards are place in the stack, the question was about which CARD was used in MATCHING the cards in the combat stack? i.e.

  • Very First card played in the round (aka the Attack Card)
  • Very Last card played in the round (aka the Counter-Attack cards)
  • Both cards (the Attack Card AND the Counter-Attack Cards' main attack type)

 

The attack card and counterattack cards will be the same.  If you attack with blue, and are able to counterattack, you can only add more blue.  Therefore any cards in the combat stack have to be blue to cause the deathblow.  You will never be able to counterattack with a different color card than you opened that round with.



#5 starros

starros

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 October 2010 - 09:56 PM

All seems clear to me except one thing :

With a counter attack, can you end to a draw or have you to be able to play enough cards to be the winner of the exchange ?



#6 DoomTurtle

DoomTurtle

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 06 October 2010 - 01:16 AM

starros said:

All seems clear to me except one thing :

With a counter attack, can you end to a draw or have you to be able to play enough cards to be the winner of the exchange ?

You can end to a draw.  You can also end to a loss, which would just add more cards to the combat stack, but more importantly, remove low value cards from your hand.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS