Jump to content



Photo

Exiting the Catacombs - A question


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Abyssus Angelus

Abyssus Angelus

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 05:59 AM

Hey all,

Was curious to see if anybody out there used house rules that involve placing a catacombs entrance marker when a hero exits the dreaded catacombs.  I couldn't find clarification in the rulebook as it seems a hero just 'appears' on a tile when exiting the catacombs.  The only time an entrance marker is placed is when a hero enters the catacombs (from my understanding).  Makes sense it is done this way since it is called an 'entrance' marker.

My real question is, "If a hero exits the catacombs, can another hero go to that tile and enter the catacombs (or the same hero re-enter later)?"

Thanks for any input and feedback!



#2 SoylentGreen

SoylentGreen

    Member

  • Members
  • 373 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:25 AM

When you place a catacomb marker from drawing a "passage down" card - that entrance stays on that tile and any hero can access the catacombs through that entrance - the exception being in a "cave-in" tile. Only the hero who pulled that card and entered in that tile can access that entrance - as the rules state "(Exception: If a Hero draws a "Passage Down” on a Cave-in chamber, he may still enter the Catacombs, but he does not place a catacomb entrance marker on the chamber, regardless of whether he enters the Catacombs or not, as the cave-in has filled in the entrance).

There is nothing to indicate (at least at quick glance) that you place another entrance when you exit... allowing another hero to enter where you exited.



#3 Abyssus Angelus

Abyssus Angelus

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:28 AM

Thanks Soylent for the response.  I knew about the placement when going in, just wasn't sure about coming out.  I think I'll just keep playing the way it was intended and not place the markers when exiting and only when entering as you detailed.

Again, thank you for the response:)



#4 SoylentGreen

SoylentGreen

    Member

  • Members
  • 373 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 06:32 AM

No problem! Glad to help!



#5 Dimzer

Dimzer

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 01:56 AM

And as sidenote, to further the point, the catacomb markers are a FIXED resource...only 6 of them.  So by placing them on exits, you'd be halving your available markes, which I don't think is intended.

 

-Dimzer






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS