Jump to content



Photo

Scourge vs cloak


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kajo

Kajo

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 30 August 2010 - 11:33 PM

The SC faq states:

Q: What happens when a scourge combat card's ability is triggered against a unit with cloaking?

A: The cloaking unit withdraws followig standard cloaking rules

 

So the scourge is destroyed?



#2 cyb3k

cyb3k

    Member

  • Members
  • 278 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 04:59 AM

Read this thread: 

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp

IMO:

1) In BW - it is not destroyed (Sacrifice is not triggered unless Detector is present)

2) Without expansion - it is destroyed. Quoting the rules from FAQ: 

"End of the Destroy Units Step: If your front-line unit was not
destroyed, destroy it. If this happens (...)"

Notice that it is destroyed even vs. non-flying units. Scrouge has ridiculously high health values on the cards - 8, 8 and 9. In addition, it is cheap and easy accessible unit, which could be used even to defend areas without the rule from FAQ. Howevver, in BW Scrouge is more expensive, but considerably stronger - without expansion Scrouges are mostly useless vs. capital flying units, which can reach >8 attack easily.

Moreover, Wraith and other flying units with Cloaking still can withdraw (like in BW).



#3 Kajo

Kajo

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 31 August 2010 - 07:02 AM

I was talking about non-expansion version..

So to summarize:

 

Cons: No defending capability (destroyed even against ground unit :o ), single use, can't take down cloaked enemies, hard to take down the big guys

Pros: Low cost, easy to access from the start, ...

Am i missing something or is it that bad?



#4 cyb3k

cyb3k

    Member

  • Members
  • 278 posts

Posted 01 September 2010 - 08:47 AM

Kajo said:

 

Am i missing something or is it that bad?

 

 

- with Detector (e.g. from Queen) Cloaking doesn't matter

- even with triggered Cloaking the enemy will withdraw from the area (if Scrouge survives the skirmish)

- you make your Scrouges tougher by increasing health instead of attack, so that cards like "Esnare" or "Improved Carapace" are very useful for them (BTW: Queens can make a nice combo with Scrouges)

- they are useless in defense (unless you use cards for other units - minor health values and/or vs units with ground attack only)

- it costs you only 1 gas, and in attack it will take your enemy his best card(s) or his much more expensive flying unit



#5 Kajo

Kajo

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 02 September 2010 - 02:56 AM

cyb3k said:

Kajo said:

 

Am i missing something or is it that bad?

 

 

- with Detector (e.g. from Queen) Cloaking doesn't matter

- even with triggered Cloaking the enemy will withdraw from the area (if Scrouge survives the skirmish)

- you make your Scrouges tougher by increasing health instead of attack, so that cards like "Esnare" or "Improved Carapace" are very useful for them (BTW: Queens can make a nice combo with Scrouges)

- they are useless in defense (unless you use cards for other units - minor health values and/or vs units with ground attack only)

- it costs you only 1 gas, and in attack it will take your enemy his best card(s) or his much more expensive flying unit

Ok thanks :D






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS