We have a situation which ran as follows :
The French play 'Fast Pace' and move the two hexes to close with a British Artillery unit.
In the second segment of the action phase the French melee in column. Even with the 9 on the dice they only disorganise the artillery. (Ok this is a really poor card result and the artillery was lucky).
The artillery can then use their second phase to reorganise.
In the next turn, unless the French opt to fire instead of melee, the Artillery will get off another shot at range 1 before the French Melee again.
1. Is this right ? is there not a rule that means once meleed, Artillery have to be clear of a melee before they can fire again or similar.
This seems very odd and difficult to justify.
Could someone explain the logic behind this please ?