Jump to content



Photo

Some newbie questions about fire and devastation...


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 TheCurse

TheCurse

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 08:25 AM

Hi,

After reading the rulebooks, I need some clarifications:

Let's suppose I have a building with a Fire x4 token on it and some infantry inside. I'm a the "Resolve status condition". So:

1) "Apply effects to terrain". The building is destroyed and I must put a devastation token on it. I have to remove the "Fire x4" token at this time? Right?

2) "Apply effects to units". Since the "Fire x4" token has been removed, I don't have to eliminate any figure of my infantry unit? Is that correct?

Thanks for your help!



#2 KenToad

KenToad

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 28 December 2010 - 07:48 PM

TheCurse said:

Hi,

After reading the rulebooks, I need some clarifications:

Let's suppose I have a building with a Fire x4 token on it and some infantry inside. I'm a the "Resolve status condition". So:

1) "Apply effects to terrain". The building is destroyed and I must put a devastation token on it. I have to remove the "Fire x4" token at this time? Right?

2) "Apply effects to units". Since the "Fire x4" token has been removed, I don't have to eliminate any figure of my infantry unit? Is that correct?

Thanks for your help!

Another thing that could have been better explained in the rulebook.  Fires don't burn out or increase in this game.  When the burn limit is reached, you simply add a devastation token and treat the hex as a plains hex.  It's still got a level 4 fire and will still spread and kill units.  Remember that units can't enter burning hexes and hexes with units in them cannot be burned.  So, essentially, the only way to have units burning is if the fire spreads into their hex.

The exception to these rules are the non-hex burnable things like bridges, tents and palisades that are just removed from the board along with all their fire tokens.  Another weird thing is that forest terrain burns at level 3, but fires don't spread until they get to level 4, so apparently forest fires don't spread. 



#3 KenToad

KenToad

    Member

  • Members
  • 109 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 05:32 AM

Just to clarify about my previous comment about forest fires not spreading, since I saw a question asking about this issue over on BGG.

The maximum level of fire that can be in a forest hex is 3, so at the end of the turn a devastation marker would be placed, but the level 3 fire stays.  And since the hex is now treated as a plains hex, it can be increased to level 4, but some ability would have to make it increase.  So, technically, fires in forest hexes can spread, but they take at least two turns to do so. 

I believe there also is no restriction to adding fire levels to a hex with a devastation token with no fire levels, i.e. re-lighting the fire. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS