Jump to content



Photo

die in the desert with a card there


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 kumara

kumara

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 30 July 2010 - 11:09 AM

do you still die in the desert if there is a card in the desert?



#2 JCHendee

JCHendee

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts

Posted 30 July 2010 - 12:32 PM

Again, check the FAQ I mentioned in another of your question topics.  The space's first instruction before anything to do with cards is Lose 1 Life.  If the an official ruling or FAQ overrides that explicit order of rules on the board, well, there it is... but it wouldn't make much sense.



#3 Cynewulf

Cynewulf

    Member

  • Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 12:36 AM

Yes, you still lose a life. You don't lose a life if you encounter another character there.



#4 JCHendee

JCHendee

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 11:31 AM

Cynewulf said:

 

Yes, you still lose a life. You don't lose a life if you encounter another character there.

 

 

Yes, that rule-built oddity is pretty well known.



#5 Cynewulf

Cynewulf

    Member

  • Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 11:44 AM

JCHendee said:

Yes, that rule-built oddity is pretty well known.

I considered adding "some players houserule that you will still lose 1 life", but why confuse the OP with house rules?



#6 JCHendee

JCHendee

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,811 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 03:09 PM

The "OP"?   Confusing?  There's nothing "confusing" about spaces affecting all who land on them the same regardless of what they do there. It's the sensible way found in the majority of games for thousands of years (yes, literally).  The opposite is what's confusing.

 



#7 Jamos

Jamos

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 03:48 PM

So we land on desert lose a life immediately then draw a card if none are on the space then encounter anything there then take objects followers and coins.

or if another player is on that space we may encounter him and not lose a life from that space.

Correct?



#8 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 19 November 2012 - 07:19 PM

Jamos said:

So we land on desert lose a life immediately then draw a card if none are on the space then encounter anything there then take objects followers and coins.

or if another player is on that space we may encounter him and not lose a life from that space.

Correct?

Yes!

Ell.



#9 Tiggurix

Tiggurix

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 04:18 PM

Actually, you encounter cards on a space before encountering a space itself, so if for example the Magic Portal was there, and you chose to go through it, you would not lose a life.



#10 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 15 December 2012 - 08:03 PM

Tiggurix said:

Actually, you encounter cards on a space before encountering a space itself, so if for example the Magic Portal was there, and you chose to go through it, you would not lose a life.

Completely wrong!!! That only applies to non-draw card spaces, not a Desert space.

Ell.



#11 Yevaud

Yevaud

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:29 AM

talismanamsilat said:

Tiggurix said:

 

Actually, you encounter cards on a space before encountering a space itself, so if for example the Magic Portal was there, and you chose to go through it, you would not lose a life.

 

 

Completely wrong!!! That only applies to non-draw card spaces, not a Desert space.

Ell.

 

Tiggurix is right. Before you write that someone is wrong READ THE MANUAL.

If they found something that makes the turn end or moves you to another place you dont apply the desert space description.

SOURCE: http://www.fantasyfl...man FAQ 1-1.pdf

 

 

Encounter Sequence
When characters choose to encounter a space, they must 
resolve the encounter in the order listed below. If a character 
is moved to a different space any time during the encounter, 
he continues with a new encounter in the new space. Exception: If a character is defeated during a battle or psychic 
combat and is forced to move to a new space, he cannot 
encounter the new space and his turn immediately ends.
1. If the space has instructions to draw cards (see “Encountering A Space – Draw Cards Spaces” on page 9 in the 
main game’s rulebook), the character must follow the 
instructions on the space first.
2. Any cards in the space without an encounter number (such 
as the Hex Spell) must be encountered.
3. Any Events in the space must be encountered. Note that an 
Event that lasts more than one turn remains on the space 
as a reminder, and still counts as a card on that space. If 
a character encounters the Event again, the effect does not 
“reset” and last for additional turns.
4. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
1 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
5. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
2 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
6. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
3 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
7. Any Strangers must be visited.
8. Any gold, Followers, and Objects may be taken.
9. Any Places must be visited.
10. If the space does not have instructions to draw cards, the 
character must follow the instructions for the space.


#12 Yevaud

Yevaud

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:35 AM

JCHendee said:

Again, check the FAQ I mentioned in another of your question topics.  The space's first instruction before anything to do with cards is Lose 1 Life.  If the an official ruling or FAQ overrides that explicit order of rules on the board, well, there it is… but it wouldn't make much sense.

 

Thats the LAST thing you do.

Not the FIRST.

READ THE FAQ:

http://www.fantasyfl...man FAQ 1-1.pdf

 



#13 Yevaud

Yevaud

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:43 AM

talismanamsilat said:

Jamos said:

 

So we land on desert lose a life immediately then draw a card if none are on the space then encounter anything there then take objects followers and coins.

or if another player is on that space we may encounter him and not lose a life from that space.

Correct?

 

 

Yes!

Ell.

 

NO. Thats not how Talisman Works.

You land on the space. If there is no card you go to the space description and solve it.

If there are Cards on the Space you solve the CARDs (in the order specified by the FAQ) first and then the Space Description.

How a user named talismanamsilat can bring so many wrong answers?

 

To make Sense. Lets say there is a water item on the space. So you Die First and then  take the water? NOOOO

You find the water and then… desert space does not kill you.

 

This helps a lot because gives talisman more strategy waypoints.

You can try to get a result on an event to move you out from there and not take damage from the desert.

You can try to lose a fight with an enemy because you have a good armor and a chance to avoid that damage + turn ends.

Instead of take damage from the desert and get killed with no mitigation posible.

You can cast a spell before to heal you or to prevent the damage.

 

So To all the questions about the DESERT. Is the last thing you do.

 



#14 azoic

azoic

    Member

  • Members
  • 76 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 04:58 AM

No, you are wrong! Read the FAQ!

Ell. is right!

 

Again READ the FAQ:

Encounter Sequence
When characters choose to encounter a space, they must 
resolve the encounter in the order listed below. If a character 
is moved to a different space any time during the encounter, 
he continues with a new encounter in the new space. Exception: If a character is defeated during a battle or psychic 
combat and is forced to move to a new space, he cannot 
encounter the new space and his turn immediately ends.
1. If the space has instructions to draw cards (see “Encountering A Space – Draw Cards Spaces” on page 9 in the 
main game’s rulebook), the character must follow the 
instructions on the space first.
 
   Here is your error:
   If the space has instructions to draw cards the character must follow the instructions on the space first!
 
   The Desert space has the instruction to draw cards, so you MUST follow the instructions on this space.
   And there it is said LOSE 1 LIFE THEN DRAW 1 CARD.
 
   10 is not true for the Desert, because it is has an instruction to draw cards!
   (10. If the space does not have instructions to draw cards, the character must follow the instructions for the space.)
 
2. Any cards in the space without an encounter number (such 
as the Hex Spell) must be encountered.
3. Any Events in the space must be encountered. Note that an 
Event that lasts more than one turn remains on the space 
as a reminder, and still counts as a card on that space. If 
a character encounters the Event again, the effect does not 
“reset” and last for additional turns.
4. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
1 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
5. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
2 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
6. Any Enemies in the space with an encounter number of 
3 must be encountered. If all of the Enemies are killed or 
evaded the character continues to the next step, otherwise 
his turn ends.
7. Any Strangers must be visited.
8. Any gold, Followers, and Objects may be taken.
9. Any Places must be visited.
10. If the space does not have instructions to draw cards, the 
character must follow the instructions for the space.

 



#15 Tiggurix

Tiggurix

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 10:27 AM

Ah, I see. In that case, I concede my point.



#16 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 11:23 AM

@Yevaud - Would you like to state my so called 'wrong answers'?

In summary, if you land on the Desert you must lose 1 life before drawing/encountering a card there!

Ell.



#17 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,290 posts

Posted 16 December 2012 - 11:34 AM

Yevaud said:

talismanamsilat said:

 

Tiggurix said:

 

Actually, you encounter cards on a space before encountering a space itself, so if for example the Magic Portal was there, and you chose to go through it, you would not lose a life.

 

 

Completely wrong!!! That only applies to non-draw card spaces, not a Desert space.

Ell.

 

 

 

Tiggurix is right. Before you write that someone is wrong READ THE MANUAL.

I have many times especially during its design!

Ell.



#18 Yevaud

Yevaud

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 December 2012 - 12:15 AM

You right I didnt take into consideration that Desert Space is a Draw Card Space.

My Bad.

 

Sorry






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS