Jump to content



Photo

King in Yellow: Director's Diary


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 McCracken

McCracken

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 July 2010 - 09:02 AM

Hey all, long (long) time lurker, first time poster.

I just recently, well today, purchased the King in Yellow Expansion. After reading through all the new cards, one is giving me trouble in trying to figure out just how effective it is; The Director's Diary. The text reads that discarding it when the terror level is increased can reduce the amount by which it is increasing by 1.

What I'm wondering is can the Director's Diary effectively negate a terror level increase or is it only effective for the Mythos card that has a double terror level increase? Thanks.



#2 DoomTurtle

DoomTurtle

    Member

  • Members
  • 215 posts

Posted 20 July 2010 - 09:56 AM

You can use it for any increase.  So if it would go up by one, then the Director's Diary reduces it to 0.  If the double terror mythos card comes up, you can use it to have the terror only go up by 1.



#3 McCracken

McCracken

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 July 2010 - 12:30 PM

DoomTurtle said:

You can use it for any increase.  So if it would go up by one, then the Director's Diary reduces it to 0.  If the double terror mythos card comes up, you can use it to have the terror only go up by 1.

Awesome, thanks DoomTurtle! I was hoping that's how it worked, definitely makes it a pretty sweet Common Item to have.



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 20 July 2010 - 07:24 PM

Except Terror doesn't really mean squat in most games. Only with Hastur, Glaaki as GOO or Dagon/KiY as Herald do I even remotely care about Terror. In a game where none of those four are in, only Terror 6 (closing Curiositie Shoppe) has a meaningful game effect.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS