Jump to content



Photo

Comments on the FAQ


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 WarrenLocke

WarrenLocke

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 July 2010 - 03:45 PM

 Figured I'd be the first to chime in, all in all I'm glad we've got a FAQ now and in general it looks like it makes sense.  However... Thunderhawks can't transport Heroes at all?  Patently ridiculous.  Not even something I considered, I figured the question was just if they took a space on the transport or not, but for some reason only rank and file troops are allowed on a Thunderhawk?  Heck, you can squeeze a Titan on there but no room for a hero?



#2 Three Headed Monkey

Three Headed Monkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 13 July 2010 - 04:15 PM

It does seem wierd. It follows the letter of the rules exactly but it still seems wierd. I cant think of a fluff reason to disallow this, gameplay balance must be the only reason. And even then, it I'm not sure why exactly.

A few suprising things in the FAQ, like not being able to retreat from a coexistence battle. Does this mean that causing a unit to rout in a coexistence battle will automatically eliminate this unit?

Also, no mention on whether or not Khan can move through areas containing enemy units when resolving his ability. My thoughts are that he doesnt suddenly become a flying unit, but still, clarification would be nice.



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 13 July 2010 - 07:44 PM

Three Headed Monkey said:

It does seem wierd. It follows the letter of the rules exactly but it still seems wierd. I cant think of a fluff reason to disallow this, gameplay balance must be the only reason. And even then, it I'm not sure why exactly.

Come on, you know those Primarchs, all high and mighty, wouldn't be caught dead travelling with the rank and file . They'd want their own, pimped out THs.

Three Headed Monkey said:

Also, no mention on whether or not Khan can move through areas containing enemy units when resolving his ability. My thoughts are that he doesnt suddenly become a flying unit, but still, clarification would be nice.

I'm in the camp that he moves like a flying unit (that is, can move through enemy unit areas) without becoming one (simulates his ability for fast attacks, using the land, mobility, etc.).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 drmabuse00

drmabuse00

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 03:33 AM

Dam said:

Three Headed Monkey said:

It does seem wierd. It follows the letter of the rules exactly but it still seems wierd. I cant think of a fluff reason to disallow this, gameplay balance must be the only reason. And even then, it I'm not sure why exactly.

 

Come on, you know those Primarchs, all high and mighty, wouldn't be caught dead travelling with the rank and file . They'd want their own, pimped out THs.

Three Headed Monkey said:

Also, no mention on whether or not Khan can move through areas containing enemy units when resolving his ability. My thoughts are that he doesnt suddenly become a flying unit, but still, clarification would be nice.

 

I'm in the camp that he moves like a flying unit (that is, can move through enemy unit areas) without becoming one (simulates his ability for fast attacks, using the land, mobility, etc.).

Personally, I think that Khan's ability should be comparable to the timing of flying units not the actual movement ability of going through (or over) enemy units. Hopefully this can be resolved sooner rather than later.



#5 Stinger

Stinger

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 05:19 AM

Honestly I think the FAQ creates more questions than it answers. I'd love to know the reasoning behind Thunderhawks not being able to carry Heroes. I'll be ignoring that particular clarification.



#6 SpawnoChaos

SpawnoChaos

    Member

  • Members
  • 299 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 07:33 AM

WarrenLocke said:

 Figured I'd be the first to chime in, all in all I'm glad we've got a FAQ now and in general it looks like it makes sense.  However... Thunderhawks can't transport Heroes at all?  Patently ridiculous.  Not even something I considered, I figured the question was just if they took a space on the transport or not, but for some reason only rank and file troops are allowed on a Thunderhawk?  Heck, you can squeeze a Titan on there but no room for a hero?

I'm actually somewhat surprised by the ruling as well... however, you can't fit a Titan onto a Thunderhawk. I'm sure you were just being facetious. 

They probably did it that way to ensure some game balance (due to the powers of the Primarchs) and also to represent that the Primarchs mostly served with the bulk of their troops, leading them from the forefront.



#7 WarrenLocke

WarrenLocke

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 01:33 PM

SpawnoChaos said:

WarrenLocke said:

 

 Figured I'd be the first to chime in, all in all I'm glad we've got a FAQ now and in general it looks like it makes sense.  However... Thunderhawks can't transport Heroes at all?  Patently ridiculous.  Not even something I considered, I figured the question was just if they took a space on the transport or not, but for some reason only rank and file troops are allowed on a Thunderhawk?  Heck, you can squeeze a Titan on there but no room for a hero?

 

 

I'm actually somewhat surprised by the ruling as well... however, you can't fit a Titan onto a Thunderhawk. I'm sure you were just being facetious. 

They probably did it that way to ensure some game balance (due to the powers of the Primarchs) and also to represent that the Primarchs mostly served with the bulk of their troops, leading them from the forefront.

Certainly in reality you couldn't fit a Titan onto a Thunderhawk, but as far as I can tell the game will let you do it.  The rule only specifies units, it says nothing about the relative size or rank of the units, so you could carry two Titans with a Thunderhawk's transport rule, but you can't bring a Hero.



#8 Three Headed Monkey

Three Headed Monkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 02:19 PM

The ruling didn't suprise me in that there was nothing in the rule book to begin with that directly stated that heroes could be transported by flying units. However, I thought that this may have just been an oversite and played the assumption that the rule that said that heroes count as units for all movement purposes meant that they could be treated as a unit for transport.

A little bit disapointed in the restriction but I will play it the way they rule it. I dont feel that it will make a massive difference and will just increase the importance on placing your heroes in the right spot to begin with.

EDIT: Someone on BBG got an official answer to another question some of us had.

Rule Question:
Do temporary breaches (by Thunderhawks) impede the Fabricator General and Rogal Dorn from using their special ability, namely from building fortifications and from pushing the rank of Dorn's followers up one step?

A: No. Thunderhawks only treat fortifications as breached for damage-reduction purposes. The Fabricator General can remove 1 breach token or place a fortification token, and Rogal Dorn can use his special ability as long as his fortification does not contain an actual breach token.

I had been playing the Thunderhawk's interaction with Dorn differently, although I thought that they wouldn't remove the fortification token. We've never had the Fabricator General in a battle though :P.

I'm glad. This makes Dorn a little less craptacular.



#9 Ryukem

Ryukem

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 11:14 PM

Quoted from FAQ

Q: If you bombard an area next to a fortification and get a
breached result, do you place a breach marker even if you
didn’t actually target the fortification?
A: Yes.

Was anybody playing it this way before?

If yes do you have any feedback, does this ruling make the game easier for the traitor player?



#10 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,260 posts

Posted 14 July 2010 - 11:31 PM

I was. In Scenario 1, my main bombardment target was the 2 Titan + 2 Tank region adjacent to the factory in the south. Even if a Breach occurred, there wasn't really any point in attacking the factory, so that one was a bust. Another regular targets were Damocles and Lions Gate Spaceports, with the former, breaching the fortification didn't matter that much TBH, but breaching the Forbidden Fortress (where the BAs start in) was a nice bonus.

In later scenarios, with Imperials starting in fortifications for the most part, Imperials probably want to set up their "left over" units (8 Imperial Army, 4 Tanks) in a way that the Traitor doesn't get multiple targets in a region adjacent to an important fortified area (probably just the Imperial Palace), thus the Traitor has to choose between more grouped targets or hitting single units in hopes of breaching the Palace (though Precise bombardment gets nice breach odds).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#11 Three Headed Monkey

Three Headed Monkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 16 July 2010 - 06:16 PM

In my gaming group we were unsure if Khan's ability allowed him to be treated as a flying unit. I sent the question off to FFG and got this response:

Rule Question:
When using Jaghatai Khan's ability, can Khan and White Scars Space Marine units moving with him enter and pass through areas containing enemy units as flying units would?


A: Yes. Khan and any White Scars Space Marines in his area can move through enemy and contested areas and crossing a crevasse only costs one movement point. However, Khan may not use his ability to join a coexistence battle (see “Flying Units Joining Battles” on page 25 for details).

 



#12 SquirrelonRampage

SquirrelonRampage

    Member

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 11:36 PM

Folks, I searched through the forum (here and at BGG) and got a few official rules question replies, packed it all together and posted it over at bgg. I hope it proves helpful to some of you.

Here's the link:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/547662/unofficial-faq-a-collection-of-rules-questions-a






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS