Hi there. My friends and I just started playing AH this weekend, and weren't sure about the rules regarding two investigator abilities.
The Professor and Gangster state that in Any Phase they may reduce all Sanity or Stamina loss (respectively) by one. Does this mean that they may only reduce damage done once per phase?
In other words, if the Gangster is fighting a Cultist or other monster with a damage of only 1, does he never take damage, or does he simply not take damage the first time he is hit?