Hi all - just got this game and have been reading through the rules. So far, everything seems relatively clear but I noticed one example (on page 34) that explains the rank bonus (fire) ... but I think it does so incorrectly.
It states that the bonuses of an infantry unit in line, with a fire value of +1, gets the following bonuses in the example
+1 (fire value)
+4 (number of firing figures),
+2 (ranks of the target unit - which is in Column)
for a total of +7.
Now, where is the infantry units rank bonus? Is that Fire Value? (I think not, as this is printed on the card) . So, since the chart shows a +1 for Infantry in Line and a +2 for infantry in column...and the header states that this bonus is a 'rank bonus for the firing unit'...either the example above has forgotten the +1 and the total should be +8...or uses the wrong rank theory and should be a bonus for the firing unit, not the defending unit...and the total would be a +6.
Any help here would be appreciated...