Jump to content



Photo

2 Missile Countdowns


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JJP

JJP

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:28 AM

Does anyone else have 2 Missile Countdown Event Cards? What do you do if the event chit is in play when you draw the 2nd card?

 

  --JP



#2 frouvne

frouvne

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:59 AM

Two of your Timed Destruction tokens have the "Asphyxiated!" symbol on one side and "Missile Launched!" on the other side. That makes it possible to have two tokens in play at the same time. For me the interesting question is whether I will be able to remove both of them with one Stop Missile Launch action if I have not passed any of the tokens on the Time Track when my attempt is being made.



#3 bruno faidutti

bruno faidutti

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 07:12 AM

 Yes, one fix removes both timed missile launches. This means that there's no real difference between placing the second one and not placing it.



#4 frouvne

frouvne

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 21 December 2008 - 07:43 AM

bruno faidutti said:

 Yes, one fix removes both timed missile launches. This means that there's no real difference between placing the second one and not placing it.

 

That makes perfectly sense since performing the Fix Oxygen Pumps action or the Fix Engine action both reset the associated track and removes the token. Thanks for the clarification!



#5 Joram

Joram

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 03 January 2009 - 09:44 AM

bruno faidutti said:

 Yes, one fix removes both timed missile launches. This means that there's no real difference between placing the second one and not placing it.

Yes, there is. In the one game we played, we had a timed missle come up. Our Orange player had a deactivation code, however, and enough time that when it reached his turn he would be sure of getting it. However, he was one of the farthest forward on the time track.

On another player's turn, they did their stuff, but one of the events they passed was the second missle activation. However, this one was placed 3 or 4 minutes before the other one. Suddenly, we did not have a sure thing of getting the missiles down, but only about a 60% chance.

We ended up ruling that we could only have one timed missle destruction at one time, but I guess that isn't correct.

But it certainly can make a difference placing the second.



#6 gareth_lazelle

gareth_lazelle

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:01 AM

According to the designer:

www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffgforums/posts/list/14221.page

You just ignore the second card,



#7 Joram

Joram

    Member

  • Members
  • 289 posts

Posted 05 January 2009 - 06:52 AM

Well, based on what the designer said just a few posts up on this very page, I assumed that he meant that you place the second one as normal. I guess I was wrong.



#8 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 31 January 2009 - 05:31 PM

Joram said:

Well, based on what the designer said just a few posts up on this very page, I assumed that he meant that you place the second one as normal. I guess I was wrong.

He said you place it but for all practical purposes, it does nothing. 

  • If you fix it in time for the first one, then the 2nd one is fixed.
  • If you don't fix it in time for the first one, the game is over anyway.
  • Theoretically, A gnome could go past the first event and fix the 2nd one but that just brings you back to the first two points and you gnome just wasted time fixing something that didn't matter.

So you can ignore the second card if the first event is still on the board.



#9 Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

Wh0isTh3D0ct0r

    Member

  • Members
  • 418 posts

Posted 18 October 2009 - 04:46 AM

That is not correct. If there are two identical timed event tokens in play, a player decides which of the events he is attempting to resolve before rolling the die. See the forum entry entitled "Comprehensive FAQ project". I have provided official responses to questions such as these. See, specifically, question 8.


X-Wing:

Spoiler
Netrunner:
Spoiler
Star Wars LCG:
Spoiler




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS