Still no official answer or FAQ?
Okay what about absurdum proof:
Imagine you activate the area, but have no other units in adjacent areas to attack. Only those in target area. So, you are saying, because units are in target area, they are brought into battle, even there is an activation marker from previous order. But, no other unit is attacking the target area, so units in target area are not "brought into battle", they are the only units that are actually attacking the target area. So they are using order card to attack somewhere, which they cant.
What? You could have been clearer in what you were saying.
Be careful of the terminology that you use. Remember that it is not a target area until the combat is started. Until then, it is just classified as a contested area.
Just to clarify; you think that I am making the arguement that units in an activated area that is also contested can act on an attack order targeting the area that they are in?
That is not what I am saying at all. You cant order the units in the contested area if there is an activation marker there. So you need friendly units in an unactivated adjacent area to attack the contested area and thus create the combat.
This is what happens. An attack order card is played in the region of the proposed target are which the units in the adjacent area act on. The target area is a contested area with a friendly activation marker in it. A marker is placed in the origin area, but not in the target area as there already is one. So the units in the adjacent are attack and combat starts. To resolve that combat, these are the steps that you go through:
- Joining battle
- Engaging units
- Preparing to fight
- Combat iterations
- End of battle
The rules for the second step, engaging units, states that "all units and Heroes in the target area, whether belonging to the defender or attacker, become engaged automatically." After that, no exceptions or further clarifications on the matter are listed.
So the units that are already in the target area become engaged. As stated before, the activation markers are placed as soon as the origin and target areas are identified so there will always be an activation marker in the target area when step 2 comes around.
Now, the only definition of the word 'all' that I know of usually meens everything. So if the rules say all units, without naming any exceptions, then I have the only conclusion I can draw is that every unit in the target area becomes engaged in the battle.
Really, I dont know what else I can say. That sentence page 24 just seems so clear to me.
Also compare the next line; "in a coexistence battle, all units and Heroes present in the area are automatically engaged." I cannot find anywhere in the rule book that specifically states an exception that allows units in an activated area to fight coexistence battle. They do, of course, but that is because of the rules in the 'engaging units' step. If units in an activated area can become engaged in a coexistence battle, then they can become engaged in a combat in the situation that I have described.
Note, that in all of that, I did not once say that the units in the activated, contested area are acting (attacking, moving, etc.) due to the execution of an order. They are not acting. They are not attacking. The units in the unactivated adjacent area are carrying out the attack order. They cause a combat, in which you then follow through the steps for resolving that combat. If you follow those steps, as they are witten, ALL of the units in the contested become engaged in the combat. Whether or not there is an activation marker in the target area before the combat is irrelevant in this situation.