Jump to content



Photo

Event Card Question Cruel Weather Nazgul Search


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kayjay77

kayjay77

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 June 2010 - 10:40 AM

I have no idea if this is where to post this ... got the CE but have never owned the original game so I am a newb. 
Both cruel weather and nazgul search say play if fellowship is on step 1 or higher of the fellowship track and have you take actions that presume
you know where the fellowship is
 eg move the ring bearers to an adjacent region.     But they are still hidden. So how can it be played?

Ex its turn 1 and the fellowship has moved once and not be hunted successfully.  So they could be in any one of 7 regions.  Or do you actaully move the ringbearer ?



#2 Sinis

Sinis

    Member

  • Members
  • 349 posts

Posted 01 June 2010 - 03:12 PM

 You move the last known location marker.



#3 Krieghund

Krieghund

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 02 June 2010 - 06:30 AM

Any time the location of the Fellowship is referred to, it means the Last Known Location, or where the Ringbearers figure is currently located.  Think of it as searching for something you've lost.  The place where you'll start looking is the last place you saw it.



#4 kayjay77

kayjay77

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 June 2010 - 12:23 PM

Hmm Ok , still a bit murky to me.

Its turn 1 and the ringbearer figure is still in Rivendell - last kown location .  HOwever the marker is now on (2) and fellowship has managed to stay hidden.  The shadow player plays cruel weather. 

 That means the shadow player may move the ringbearer 'last known location'  from rivendell to say Trollshaws ?

Same example except Nazgul search is played - except that since the ring bearer last known location is Rivendell the Nazgul cannot be moved there.

However the Nazgul Search card would seem to contravene the rule page 52 Locating the Fellowship since it does not meet condition (1) or (2).

 

Kevin

 

 

 



#5 Tsugo

Tsugo

    Member

  • Members
  • 286 posts

Posted 03 June 2010 - 04:58 AM

Cruel Weather can be played against the FP no matter where the LKP (last known position) of the fellowship is. 

Nazgul Search can also be played regardless of where the fellowship's LKP is.  However, only the first effect of the card would be valid if the LKP is in a FP stronghold controlled by the FPP.  The SP could still move any or all of the Nazgul, but the SP would not be able to place a nazgul in the FP controlled stronghold, thus the fellowship would remain hidden.

In my opinion, playing Cruel Weather while the fellowship is still in Rivendell is not generally a good move. It actually places the fellowship one step closer to Mordor. However, if you've got other cards that require the fellowship to be in a region outside the borders of a FP nation, then it might be worth it.  In this case, you could play Cruel Weather to move the fellowship to Trollshaws, then if you played Nazgul Search on your following action, the second part of the card would be legal.  You could place a Nazgul in that region, thus revealing the fellowship.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS