Jump to content



Photo

Drop Pods (and similar)


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 edderkoppen

edderkoppen

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 20 May 2010 - 11:46 PM

Can you land units in more than one territory?

"The units may be placed in an enemy, contested and/or fortified area but not in the..."

What eludes me, is the and/or, on the other hand it clearly uses a singular both in area and 'an'. Help :)



#2 haslo

haslo

    Member

  • Members
  • 585 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:48 AM

edderkoppen said:

enemy, contested and/or fortified

The area can be...

  • enemy
  • enemy and fortified
  • contested
  • contested and fortified
  • friendly
  • friendly and fortified

With enemy being 1, contested being 2, and fortified being 3, these are...

  • 1
  • 1 and 3
  • 2
  • 2 and 3
  • none
  • 3

So it's possible for an area to be just enemy, just contested, and just fortified. Furthermore, it can be fortified in addition to being either enemy or contested.


Imperials: 13 TIE Fighter, 5 TIE Advanced, 15 TIE Interceptor, 4 Slave I, 6 TIE Bomber, 5 Lambda Shuttle, 3 TIE Defender, 4 TIE Phantom

Rebels: 1 Tantive IV, 1 Rebel Transport, 7 X-Wing, 5 Y-Wing, 4 YT-1300, 6 A-Wing, 5 B-Wing, 5 HWK-290, 6 Z-95, 3 E-Wing


#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:05 AM

Kinda funny that you can't Drop Pod into a neutral area. IIRC, you can do a Port Landing at a neutral spaceport.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 drmabuse00

drmabuse00

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:49 AM

Dam said:

Kinda funny that you can't Drop Pod into a neutral area. IIRC, you can do a Port Landing at a neutral spaceport.

Not having the card in front of me but had the card said "must be placed..." then I would say you couldn't land them in a neutral area.

As it's a movement card, it's stating that you can break the normal rules for movement in it's various forms with the one exception.



#5 haslo

haslo

    Member

  • Members
  • 585 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 02:55 AM

Dam said:

Kinda funny that you can't Drop Pod into a neutral area. IIRC, you can do a Port Landing at a neutral spaceport.

 

Oups, I forgot neutral (and neutral fortified) in my list ... the card doesn't say that you can't Drop Pod into a neutral area, or does it? I always read it as kinda saying "you can pod wherever you want, even into those areas where you wouldn't expect to be able to and couldn't with a normal movement order". You make me question my judgement however...

Since "may" is optional, and "must" would be mandatory, it appeared to me that the card does not rule out territories that are neither enemy, contested nor fortified...


Imperials: 13 TIE Fighter, 5 TIE Advanced, 15 TIE Interceptor, 4 Slave I, 6 TIE Bomber, 5 Lambda Shuttle, 3 TIE Defender, 4 TIE Phantom

Rebels: 1 Tantive IV, 1 Rebel Transport, 7 X-Wing, 5 Y-Wing, 4 YT-1300, 6 A-Wing, 5 B-Wing, 5 HWK-290, 6 Z-95, 3 E-Wing


#6 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 04:08 AM

End of the first paragraph says "any area in this region", so presumably, the second paragraph is meant to clarify that you can in fact DP units into those three different areas, that you couldn't normally move units into.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#7 edderkoppen

edderkoppen

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 21 May 2010 - 10:05 PM

Thanks you very much!

.e






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS