Jump to content



Photo

a couple of rules questions.


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 St_Cypher

St_Cypher

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 May 2010 - 01:55 PM

1) Is it possible to walk into combat without performing a "charge" action? The book says "while moving.the base of your character...cannot come into contact with the base of an enemy unit, since it would automatically enter combat" (p19). This implies that the only way to enter combat is by a "charge" action. However, cipher-studios.com/2010/01/the-samael-vs-church-battle-report/ has a character walk into combat and perform an attack action (Jiang Pao, turn 2). Did they make a mistake, or can you do that?

2) For Saint Elienai's "door to the beyond"; if a character is killed within her control zone by an attack that causes Throw, and is thrown out of her control zone, can she recover it? In other words, does the character drop below 0 LP at the point of the attack, or at its final resting point? Likewise, can "door to the beyond" recover a character killed by Doom, or Hel's "Gates of Hell," or some other attack that "retires the character from the game" without technically taking their LP?

3) If Khaine uses "Martyr sacrifice" in reaction to an attack, is the damage on the target character transferred before the attack lands (and presumably adds more damage), thus making the victim character fully healthy before receiving the attack, or is the damage from the attack transferred to Khaine without ever hitting the target of the attack? Similarly, if Genma transfers damage to one of her summons, does the damage "hit" her first? If so, what happens if the damage is enough to kill her? Can Genma only transfer damage at the time it is incurred, or can she offload accumulated damage counters at any time?

4. Can a character under Seal pay upkeep for abilities that are already active, or do active abilities automatically end? If the latter, do they end immediately, or during the next upkeep phase when the upkeep cost cannot be paid? If the latter of this, can the seal (if level 1) be resolved before the upkeep is passed and the effect cancelled?

5. If the "line of charge" from someone suffering Berserker is blocked to the "nearest enemy character" (by scenery or another model), is the berserker character forced to charge them (and fail) or does it charge the closest character it can see/reach? Similarly, if a character is visible and technically nearest, but the charge would fail due to difficult terrain, and there is another character technically farther away that could be reached, which will the berserker charge? In other words, does "nearest" take into account terrain penalties?

6. If Elienai has the "Dragon Blood" advantage, can she use Deus Vult to re-roll the result?

7. Elienai again: If she is using one of the "spirit" abilities and a friendly character dies, can she end the ability as a reactive action and re-appear in time to recover that character with "door to the beyond" (assuming she appears with the dying character in her control zone), or would she have to react to the attack before the damage was dealt?

8. AOE ranged attacks: secondary targets are hit at the same "value of the attack" (p29). How does this relate to "modifiers" for ranged attacks? For example; Character A shoots a ranged attack at long range against Character B in combat (-2). This attack affects all characters within 3 inches, which in this case is Character C, who is in short range and not engaged in combat. Character a rolls a 7. The attack against Character B (the target) is therefore 5. Is the attack against Character C 5 or 7?

9. When Shinigami Ayl uses "Mimic damage" is the damage transferred calculated before or after armor? Does the armor of the recipient reduce this damage?

Thanks for the help.



#2 Cannerus

Cannerus

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 May 2010 - 05:06 PM

St_Cypher said:

1) Is it possible to walk into combat without performing a "charge" action? The book says "while moving.the base of your character...cannot come into contact with the base of an enemy unit, since it would automatically enter combat" (p19). This implies that the only way to enter combat is by a "charge" action. However, cipher-studios.com/2010/01/the-samael-vs-church-battle-report/ has a character walk into combat and perform an attack action (Jiang Pao, turn 2). Did they make a mistake, or can you do that?

2) For Saint Elienai's "door to the beyond"; if a character is killed within her control zone by an attack that causes Throw, and is thrown out of her control zone, can she recover it? In other words, does the character below 0 LP at the point of the attack, or at its final resting point? Likewise, can "door to the beyond" recover a character killed by Doom, or Hel's "Gates of Hell," or some other attack that "retires the character from the game" without technically taking their LP?

3) If Khaine uses "Martyr sacrifice" in reaction to an attack, is the damage on the target character transferred before the attack lands (and presumably adds more damage), thus making the victim character fully healthy before receiving the attack, or is the damage from the attack transferred to Khaine without ever hitting the target of the attack? Similarly, if Genma transfers damage to one of her summons, does the damage "hit" her first? If so, what happens if the damage is enough to kill her? Can Genma only transfer damage at the time it is incurred, or can she offload accumulated damage counters at any time?

4. Can a character under Seal pay upkeep for abilities that are already active, or do active abilities automatically end? If the latter, do they end immediately, or during the next upkeep phase when the upkeep cost cannot be paid? If the latter of this, can the seal (if level 1) be resolved before the upkeep is passed and the effect cancelled?

5. If the "line of charge" from someone suffering Berserker is blocked to the "nearest enemy character" (by scenery or another model), is the berserker character forced to charge them (and fail) or does it charge the closest character it can see/reach? Similarly, if a character is visible and technically nearest, but the charge would fail due to difficult terrain, and there is another character technically farther away that could be reached, which will the berserker charge? In other words, does "nearest" take into account terrain penalties?

6. If Elienai has the "Dragon Blood" advantage, can she use Deus Vult to re-roll the result?

7. Elienai again: If she is using one of the "spirit" abilities and a friendly character dies, can she end the ability as a reactive action and re-appear in time to recover that character with "door to the beyond" (assuming she appears with the dying character in her control zone), or would she have to react to the attack before the damage was dealt?

8. AOE ranged attacks: secondary targets are hit at the same "value of the attack" (p29). How does this relate to "modifiers" for ranged attacks? For example; Character A shoots a ranged attack at long range against Character B in combat (-2). This attack affects all characters within 3 inches, which in this case is Character C, who is in short range and not engaged in combat. Character a rolls a 7. The attack against Character B (the target) is therefore 5. Is the attack against Character C 5 or 7?

9. When Shinigami Ayl uses "Mimic damage" is the damage transferred calculated before or after armor? Does the armor of the recipient reduce this damage?

Thanks for the help.

Only answering the ones I know for sure off the top of my head.

1. Yes. You're reading that part wrong as it's saying the character can't move past that enemy base as it would enter combat. You can even walk into b2b with two or three enemy models if the positioning is right.

2. A character that is "removed form game" is just that and doesn't trip any effects that involve dying (Konosuke won't explode, Romeo won't get a miracle token, they won't activate martyr, etc.). The character is revived the moment they take the damage, which happens right before they are thrown. Repalce w/in 6" of Elienai and ignore the throw or else the game breaks.

3. The characters never "receive" the damage to begin with. She can only transfer an entire amount of damage the moment is received.

6. Yes. She can also Gnosis-after her own Unshakable Faith or anything else that she might need to roll a die for.

7. No. She can only voluntarily pop out during the Maintenance Phase.

9. After armor, and no. It's an effect that causes X amount of damage, not an attack.



#3 ape2020

ape2020

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 May 2010 - 01:46 AM

4. Can a character under Seal pay upkeep for abilities that are already active, or do active abilities automatically end? If the latter, do they end immediately, or during the next upkeep phase when the upkeep cost cannot be paid? If the latter of this, can the seal (if level 1) be resolved before the upkeep is passed and the effect cancelled?

No, while the ablity like Bless will remain active if it was up before the Seal, it will on last unit the end of the turn.  Paralyzed it the state that allows upkeep.

 

8. AOE ranged attacks: secondary targets are hit at the same "value of the attack" (p29). How does this relate to "modifiers" for ranged attacks? For example; Character A shoots a ranged attack at long range against Character B in combat (-2). This attack affects all characters within 3 inches, which in this case is Character C, who is in short range and not engaged in combat. Character a rolls a 7. The attack against Character B (the target) is therefore 5. Is the attack against Character C 5 or 7?

Whatever the attack value rolled for the intial attack.  They are considered explosions and so the range is actually from the main target.  Ex. Daniella fires at Kristen 7 inches with Divine Flames and with all the modiers rolls an attack value of 16.  Harod is 3 inches further away but the attack is still 16 which he now can decide if he wants to dodge or not..  He can get cover bonuss if its between him and Kristen, but even if he is hidden he will suffer the attack.

 

=ape2020



#4 St_Cypher

St_Cypher

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 May 2010 - 12:42 PM

thanks! I appreciate it.



#5 St_Cypher

St_Cypher

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 May 2010 - 02:48 PM

A few more questions that just came up in my last game:

1) When Elienai brings a unit back using Door to the Beyond, can that unit be placed in base-to-base contact with an enemy (assuming of course it can do so while being within 6" of Elienai)?

2) Can Push or Slam actions be Dodged? (I assume yes)

3) If Khaine uses Martyr Sacrifice to redirect damage from an attack that causes Throw, what happens? Does A) The original target get thrown 0" because that was the amount of damage -it- took, or B) does the original target get thrown the number of inches equal to the amount of damage that was redirected, or C) does Khaine get thrown somehow (I would doubt this), or D) something else? I assume Genma's redirect will work the same way?

 

 



#6 Cannerus

Cannerus

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 04:48 AM

1. Yes. Powers typically say specifically when they limit you on placement. Bare in mind this is "within" 6" so you just need a tiny corner of the base to be within.

2. Yes.

3. We play it as the character is thrown. The most rules-knowledgeable of our group gave some justification for this that I can't quite remember. Wish I could give you a better answer, but if you can't get one here try asking Anima Studios on cipher-studios.com/AnimaBB/






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS