Jump to content



Photo

Clarification on triggering events


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Destrin

Destrin

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 09 May 2010 - 10:35 PM

Are events triggered when the NON-current player's token moves over them?

The rulebook does say that only when the current player marker moves over an event icon during the advance initiative marker step are the events resolved.  If the non-current play has their token moved over an event space by a combat card, the event should not be fired?

If the current player's token moves over an event space due to combat card play, rather than advancing the marker after orders, does the event happen?



#2 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 09 May 2010 - 11:44 PM

Destrin said:

Are events triggered when the NON-current player's token moves over them?

No.

Destrin said:

The rulebook does say that only when the current player marker moves over an event icon during the advance initiative marker step are the events resolved. If the non-current play has their token moved over an event space by a combat card, the event should not be fired?

The event should not be fired.

Destrin said:


If the current player's token moves over an event space due to combat card play, rather than advancing the marker after orders, does the event happen?

Possibly.  Depends on whether or not his marker is past the opponent's marker, and is this the first time that event space has been passed/landed on.

The sequence of play description on page 14 possibly could have been written a bit clearer.  The check for change in Initiative happens during Step 3.  At this point, if the current player's marker has been moved beyond the other player's marker, the Coexistence battles and Special Phases kick in.  It doesn't really matter how the marker got moved.  If current player's marker has passed the other, these special actions occur.

TK


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#3 Three Headed Monkey

Three Headed Monkey

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 19 May 2010 - 05:35 AM

It seems that special phases are only ever resolved duing the 'Resolve Special Phases Step'. It also only checks the initiative marker of the current player. As this step happens afer the a possible 'Change of Initiative Step' it would catch any marker movements caused by combats during that round anyway.

It seems impossible for an event to be skipped altogether, so that's good!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS