Jump to content



Photo

Forced Learning


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Davorac

Davorac

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 May 2010 - 06:58 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new here, so if I posted this in the wrong forum, I apologize.

Is the spell Forced Learning discarded even if the spell check wasn't successful? A spell like Withering is worded like "cast and exhaust to...", and it gets exhausted even if the spell check is failed, but Forced Learning is worded i bit differently, "you may cast and discard to...".



#2 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 May 2010 - 07:03 AM

If you cast it, you must discard it as part of its cost even if you fail the same you pay sanity for a spell even if you fail it.

 

p.s. why do everyone ask questions in here? the description of the forum has nothing to do with questions... I always ask them in the main arkham forum...



#3 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 07 May 2010 - 10:45 PM

IIRC the talk about the proto-FAQ, all spells should be "cast and exhaust", those that mention discard only get discarded if you successfully cast them.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#4 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 May 2010 - 07:29 AM

Dam said:

IIRC the talk about the proto-FAQ, all spells should be "cast and exhaust", those that mention discard only get discarded if you successfully cast them.

Are sure? because if you only discard them after you pass then you can cast them again and again (given you have enough sanity) because they don't get exhausted.

Can I get a confirmation on this? It makes no sense to me that you can fail a spell check and then attemp to cast it again in the same turn.



#5 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,490 posts

Posted 08 May 2010 - 12:28 PM

kroen said:

Are sure? because if you only discard them after you pass then you can cast them again and again (given you have enough sanity) because they don't get exhausted.

Can I get a confirmation on this? It makes no sense to me that you can fail a spell check and then attemp to cast it again in the same turn.

Cast and exhaust. If you pass the check, then discard the spell. If you don't pass the check, refresh the spell during next upkeep.
I haven't read the proto-FAQ, but Dam's point seems to be quite clear


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#6 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 May 2010 - 12:54 PM

www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Bless
www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Forced_Learning

No exhaust. Only "cast and discard". Again, it makes zero sense that you can try to cast the same spell in the same turn if you fail the first time.

And don't tell me the Wiki is wrong with the text. I just searched for these cards in my own copy of AH and that's the exact text. No exhaust. You're welcome so see for yourself in your copy of AH. NO EXHAUST.



#7 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,490 posts

Posted 08 May 2010 - 01:08 PM

kroen said:

www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Bless
www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Forced_Learning

No exhaust. Only "cast and discard". Again, it makes zero sense that you can try to cast the same spell in the same turn if you fail the first time.

And don't tell me the Wiki is wrong with the text. I just searched for these cards in my own copy of AH and that's the exact text. No exhaust. You're welcome so see for yourself in your copy of AH. NO EXHAUST.

I said DAM had said this. Never mentioned Arkham wiki. He said in the PROTO-FAQ it's written this. Probably (certainly) overcoming the bad wording of some cards.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#8 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,490 posts

Posted 08 May 2010 - 01:10 PM

kroen said:

p.s. why do everyone ask questions in here? the description of the forum has nothing to do with questions... I always ask them in the main arkham forum...

Why are you doing the same? Do not point out other forum users mistakes regarding the section when you're the first to do the same


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#9 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 May 2010 - 12:08 AM

What? I've never asked a question in this forum.



#10 Davorac

Davorac

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 04 June 2010 - 01:19 AM

Thanks for the replies guys, I'll play with it as if it said "cast and exhaust, if you pass, discard to gain a skill". That is the only interpretation that makes any sense to me.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS