Jump to content



Photo

Change in Initiative Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Viper114

Viper114

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 April 2010 - 02:48 PM

I have the rules down pat for the most part, but I still need some clarification about Initiative.

So, let's say the game starts, and the first player does an action costing 1 Initiative point.  That then places that player in front of the other player, meaning a change of initiative takes place.  After any coexistence battles are fought and stacking limits enforced, what happens next?  Does the first player keep going until he can't go on any further, or does the change in initiative basically say that's it for the first player, it's now the second player's time for an action?  I am guessing the second case, if "change of initiative" is taken plain and simple.



#2 tech7

tech7

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 24 April 2010 - 04:09 PM

Second one.

 

A round consist of the following phases:

1. Do one action (the active player)

2. Pay the cost (move the Initiative Marker)

3. Check for change of initiative and resolve it.

4. Special Phase.

 

If there was a change of initiative, the active player will change immidately before the new round starts.

 

Basicly, you can only do one action per round. Before each round, it is checked if there was a change of initiative, if that is the case, the other player becomes the active player.



#3 Viper114

Viper114

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 April 2010 - 04:46 PM

I get it.  And basically, if the one action wasn't enough to change the initiative, the next round is still the same player I take it.  Thanks for clearing that up.



#4 Grenzewolf

Grenzewolf

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 April 2010 - 07:03 AM

[edit]  Attacker Defender question is posted further down.  Question removed  (still not answered fully though)



#5 Viper114

Viper114

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 11:30 AM

Another question about the Change of Initiative.  The rules state that an Order placed on the Strategic Map cannot be executed since the last Change of Initiative.  This doesn't prevent someone from choosing a DIFFERENT Order on the Strategic Map (one that's already been there before the change occurred) to play instead, correct?  And this also means that the Order can then be played from the Strategic Map once the Change of Initiative changes back to you, correct?



#6 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,257 posts

Posted 30 April 2010 - 08:04 PM

Viper114 said:

Another question about the Change of Initiative.  The rules state that an Order placed on the Strategic Map cannot be executed since the last Change of Initiative.  This doesn't prevent someone from choosing a DIFFERENT Order on the Strategic Map (one that's already been there before the change occurred) to play instead, correct?  And this also means that the Order can then be played from the Strategic Map once the Change of Initiative changes back to you, correct?

You mean for example, you place an Order in the Black Ministry region (so it is "untapped" for now to show can't execute it) and you then execute an Order at say Imperial Plateau? As long as Order for your side is on top of the IP stack, you can execute it. Or if you already had an Order in the BM region and you played a new one on top of the old one, you could bury the new one (which you can't execute), making the old one the top one (assuming that stack only had 2 cards) and you could then execute that Order. Would cost you 3 initiative (1 to place, 1 to bury, 1 to execute).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS