Jump to content



Photo

The Captain (Dreamlands F21): what can you do with the action?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,058 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 08:19 AM

First the easy question:

Is it possible to use the action twice on the same story to add The Captain's skill and icons twice to it?

Now the trickier one:

If The Captain is committed to a story can you use his action to target the story he is committed to?

I'm inclined to assume the story isn't a valid target since the action says "... without committing him to that story" but I'm not really sure.



#2 KallistiBRC

KallistiBRC

    Member

  • Members
  • 322 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 10:28 AM

The first part is definitely yes.  Like Paul Lamond etc.

The second part, in contrast to what you've suggested, actually allows him to use his ability.  I think that the "without committing him" clause only says that you don't have to commit him to said stories.  Since he's already committed to a story, you can't commit him to those other stories, nor can you recommit him to the story he is at.  



#3 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,058 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 11:43 PM

KallistiBRC said:

The first part is definitely yes.  Like Paul Lamond etc.

The second part, in contrast to what you've suggested, actually allows him to use his ability.  I think that the "without committing him" clause only says that you don't have to commit him to said stories.  Since he's already committed to a story, you can't commit him to those other stories, nor can you recommit him to the story he is at.  

Thanks for your answer. That sounds reasonable.



#4 bricks16

bricks16

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:05 AM

KallistiBRC said:

The first part is definitely yes.  Like Paul Lamond etc.

The second part, in contrast to what you've suggested, actually allows him to use his ability.  I think that the "without committing him" clause only says that you don't have to commit him to said stories.  Since he's already committed to a story, you can't commit him to those other stories, nor can you recommit him to the story he is at.  

 

what about if its your turn to commit, can you pay all three domains to commit his icons to EACH story. so basically hes committed to all of them without actually being there?



#5 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,174 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:21 AM

Sure, as long as you can pay for it, you can count his icons any number of times to any number of stories you like.

As far as I can see, you can count his icons AND commit him normally to the same story.  The card doesn't seem to forbid that, it just looks like added explanation of what his ability does.



#6 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,058 posts

Posted 17 October 2012 - 09:06 PM

dboeren said:

As far as I can see, you can count his icons AND commit him normally to the same story.  The card doesn't seem to forbid that, it just looks like added explanation of what his ability does.

Nope, you cannot do that. The question has been added to the FAQ in the meantime. Here's the relevant part of the answer:

You cannot trigger The Captain’s
ability to have his icons and skill count
twice at a story, whether if its used at a
story he’s already committed to, or if
the action is triggered twice at the same
story.

 



#7 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,174 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 03:18 AM

Sorry, I didn't realize this was in the FAQ.  That should always be the first place to look for answers before posting :)



#8 bricks16

bricks16

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:40 AM

 wow that makes him amazing. as long as you have the domains you just dont commit him and only use his ability 3 times a turn. that would be a short game and screw terror lol



#9 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,174 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 06:58 AM

Well, he still has to win the struggles too :)



#10 bricks16

bricks16

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 07:21 AM

 lol yeah but terror and combat are irrelevant with his ability. so its just skill and investigation. you can hurt them but they cant hurt you.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS