Jump to content



Photo

Question about rest/corruption timing...


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Grudunza

Grudunza

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 04 April 2010 - 04:48 PM

Finally got this to the table last night (received it from my Secret Santa in November) and really loved it. It seems like a fantastic game and I'm eager to play again. As expected, it took a while to get everything clear, but after the first couple of turns it really moved along nicely and everything was fairly intuitive. But I did have one question relating to the timing of resting and discarding corruption cards...

My friend played 2 Heroes and I was Sauron, and one of his Heroes had a corruption card ("Despondency", I think) that said that whenever you rest, Sauron's left-most story marker moves 2 spaces, instead of the usual 1. The rules say that when you rest, Sauron's left-most story marker moves 1 space, and the rules also say that when you rest, you can remove one corruption card by paying the favor cost. So what I'm wondering is... if you decide to rest, does the designation of "resting" count for that corruption card's rule, even though during that rest, the player then pays the favor to remove the card? In other words, the rest has to happen to allow you to do the rest ability of paying to discard the corruption card, so since the rest happens, wouldn't the card still take effect?

I didn't really contend the point, and it was probably moot, anyway, as I would have lost badly, regardless... but I wanted to follow up on that for future reference.



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 04 April 2010 - 09:02 PM

I go with TK, like I did on BGG .


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 04 April 2010 - 11:53 PM

Me, too!

TK

 

 

 

 


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn


#4 Grudunza

Grudunza

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 05 April 2010 - 11:04 AM

Heh, well that's what I think, too, but I guess I'm hoping for Corey to respond with an official answer...






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS