• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 nwelte

nwelte

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 04:51 PM

I am new to AH and have two questions:

1.  If a gate has monsters on it, do I have to fight/evade them first to enter?  The rules say you are drawn in.  This leads me to believe the fight is automatically avoided, but that does not make sense to me.

2.  Do creatures in the outskirts ever move back in if the monster total drops below the monster limit?

#2 Avi_dreader

Avi_dreader

Evil Rules Lawyer From Hell

• Members
  • 5,573 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 04:56 PM

nwelte said:

I am new to AH and have two questions:

1.  If a gate has monsters on it, do I have to fight/evade them first to enter?  The rules say you are drawn in.  This leads me to believe the fight is automatically avoided, but that does not make sense to me.

2.  Do creatures in the outskirts ever move back in if the monster total drops below the monster limit?

1.On the way in, you have to fight and evade first, then you're sucked in.  On the way *out* you can actually choose to fight the turn you exit— which can save you a turn of movement, but it might blow your chance of sealing the gate if you lose the fight.

2.No.  They're happy eating people where they are :')

#3 Dam

Dam

• Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 12 December 2008 - 09:51 PM

To reiterate one of the basic points of AH: phases

Phase 2: Movement (where you deal with monsters)

Phase 3: Arkham Encounter (where you enter a gate in this question)

"A dirty mind is its own reward."

#4 Turambar

Turambar

• Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 15 December 2008 - 03:35 AM

Hi everybody!

this is my first post ever, nice to meet everybody!