Jump to content



Photo

Cancelled Cards -- Just to be Clear


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 karat

karat

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 02 February 2010 - 08:13 AM

Between the rules and the FAQ 2.0, I want to make sure I understand this correctly.

1) Cancelled cards lose their type.

2) Cancelled cards special effects do not affect the next round.

3) So, the implication is that if I cancel a card and the next round I play the "If the opponent's card type matches the type he played the previous round" card, then I do *not* get the bonus because it is impossible to match the type of a previously cancelled card?

 

(I keep wanting to match the types, since there is no marker to remind me that the previous card was cancelled, so I just visually see the types appear to match and want to take the bonus.)



#2 Macronx

Macronx

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 21 February 2010 - 01:27 PM

karat said:

Between the rules and the FAQ 2.0, I want to make sure I understand this correctly.

1) Cancelled cards lose their type.

2) Cancelled cards special effects do not affect the next round.

3) So, the implication is that if I cancel a card and the next round I play the "If the opponent's card type matches the type he played the previous round" card, then I do *not* get the bonus because it is impossible to match the type of a previously cancelled card?

 

(I keep wanting to match the types, since there is no marker to remind me that the previous card was cancelled, so I just visually see the types appear to match and want to take the bonus.)

As I understand it, canceled cards lose their type and special ability, and their final values are reduced to zero. So, answering your questions:

1) true

2) also true

3) also also true

Since the final values are reduced to zero, any bonuses from a previous card that was not canceled are not applied to the current card (which has been canceled).



#3 Thundercles

Thundercles

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 22 February 2010 - 12:11 PM

For number 3, is "cancelled" considered a type?  In other words, if I cancel my opponent's card and then the next card they play results in exhaustion (i.e. cancelled), does that count as both cards being the same "type"?



#4 Macronx

Macronx

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 22 February 2010 - 05:09 PM

Thundercles said:

For number 3, is "cancelled" considered a type?  In other words, if I cancel my opponent's card and then the next card they play results in exhaustion (i.e. cancelled), does that count as both cards being the same "type"?

I seriously doubt it. The anatomy of a combat card on p.28 indicates that a card is either Melee or Ranged. A canceled card is essentially blank except for its Strength Cost.



#5 Gregaria

Gregaria

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 12 April 2010 - 10:20 AM

I agree with Macronx - it is stated somewhere (can of course not remember where) that a card's type is either "melee" or "ranged", or not a type. Which isn't a type in itself.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS