Jump to content



Photo

Use of Grog, Attacking Kraken and Fire in Flooded Rooms


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Dumon

Dumon

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 04:22 AM

Hi there!

I sent these questions to the Heidelberger people and became answers that did not make that much sense when being compared to the rule book. Mainly, because they themselves were not totally sure about the correct ruling. So I'm re-posting them here, hoping for clarification at last...
;-)

1. If I read the rules correctly, then Grog can be used to get a "repair" bonus for anything, right?
2. IF Grog can be used for any repair action, and the Kraken-Killing is listed as a "Fix-It-Action", does that mean you can use Grog to attack the 
    Kraken, with the possibility to drown unconscious? Or can you even attack the Kraken bare-handed?
3. Is it possible for a fire to break out in a room with Low Water? If not, is the Asphyxiation Track still moved up one space, or not?

 



#2 bruno faidutti

bruno faidutti

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 06:43 AM

Dumon said:

Hi there!

I sent these questions to the Heidelberger people and became answers that did not make that much sense when being compared to the rule book. Mainly, because they themselves were not totally sure about the correct ruling. So I'm re-posting them here, hoping for clarification at last...
;-)

1. If I read the rules correctly, then Grog can be used to get a "repair" bonus for anything, right?
2. IF Grog can be used for any repair action, and the Kraken-Killing is listed as a "Fix-It-Action", does that mean you can use Grog to attack the 
    Kraken, with the possibility to drown unconscious? Or can you even attack the Kraken bare-handed?
3. Is it possible for a fire to break out in a room with Low Water? If not, is the Asphyxiation Track still moved up one space, or not?

 

 

1) Yes, the Grog gives a bonus to any kind of action. it also enables you to move through a room on fire.

2) Yes, you can drink grog to attack the kraken - you're supposed to drink teh grog before putting the aqualung on. And yes, you can attack the kraken with brae hands - it's just longer to kill.`

3) No. Water extinguishes fire, and no fire is possible where there's water. And no, since there's no fire, the asphyxiation marker is not moved in such a case.

 



#3 anarchy

anarchy

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 December 2008 - 08:07 AM

 Hmmm. We've been playing that a fire that starts in a room with water doesn't add a fire marker, but does increase the asphyxiation track. Now we know better!



#4 Lord Zurgling

Lord Zurgling

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 17 January 2009 - 01:07 AM

Trust me, as the people of london found out on the queens jubilee with the less than spectacular wall of fire on the thames, water isn't very flammable!

 

Although it sounds odd, in a game about a sinking submarine hunted by a kraken and crewed by gnomes, the best way of settling rule disputes is to use common-se.

No, that is ridiculous.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS