Jump to content



Photo

Another rule question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Oldster

Oldster

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 January 2010 - 10:22 PM

One of rules says that Sauron player will win the game if he places three characters in Shire. Does it still work in Variant Game?



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 06 January 2010 - 12:12 AM

Oldster said:

One of rules says that Sauron player will win the game if he places three characters in Shire. Does it still work in Variant Game?

IIRC, yes. Having the Variant WK (either in Variant or Draft game) just adds another victory option for Sauron.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Oldster

Oldster

    Member

  • Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 13 May 2010 - 11:20 PM

I think there is no need to create another rule topic so I will write here.

Instruction says that Pipin's retreat does not count as a normal move. So if he retreat from battle before using cards can I move him (or diffrent character) again?



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 14 May 2010 - 03:31 AM

Oldster said:

Instruction says that Pipin's retreat does not count as a normal move. So if he retreat from battle before using cards can I move him (or diffrent character) again?

Pippin is only able to retreat when he attacks, so you will have already moved a character that turn, just one that got cold feet afterwards .

www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/286485/pippin-and-his-retreat


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 Sapient

Sapient

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 December 2013 - 09:32 AM

Because there is already a rules thread I figured I would post this question here. When a player uses the card "magic" in combat it is replaced with any card in that player's discard pile. According to the rules text if a player replaces a "text card" the chosen card resolves immediately, just as though the chosen card had been played instead of "magic." The rules are less explicit when it comes to choosing a strength card but by the look of things I gathered that the chosen strength card would raise the strength of the relevant players character by the value of the strength card for that battle, thus replacing the played "magic" card with a played strength card. A friend of mine disagrees with me believing that a chosen strength card is returned to the choosing player's hand for use in a latter battle. Which is correct?



#6 Angus Lee

Angus Lee

    Member

  • Members
  • 425 posts

Posted 21 December 2013 - 06:51 AM

You are correct and your friend is wrong.  The strength card would "replace" the "magic" card, since the "magic" card has been played, so is the replacement and thus it is not returned to your hand.


Once ... Always ...

My blog (in Simplified Chinese): http://blog.sina.com/b0ardgames




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS