Jump to content



Photo

Another newbie clarification


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 678 posts

Posted 22 December 2009 - 08:25 PM

Hello again!

 

I am confused about the game's Set-up:

Does the Sauron player ever start the game with Dominance or are all the Story Markers (all the factions') set at the first (starting) space in the Story Track?  This came up because it says in the Starting Plot Step of Sauron's setup that the Sauron player must follow the directions in the Starting Plot card.  Rigurously speaking, this may be construed as moving whichever of his marker's affected by the Starting Plot Card up the Story Track.  Or this is boardgame Munchkinism?

 

Also, under the Preparation numeral in the Combat Sequence, for the Hero player:

It reads that the Hero must announce how much Agility he's spending & pick up such number of cards for his "combat hand."  Any unspent Agility is a +1 for the Hero's Strength in combat.  Must the player announce this each time or just by the act of not picking up any cards are his intentions made clear (ie. he may announce his Agility use or not; not required)?  Could this be considered "bad form"?

 

Now, a legitimate question, about "extension of Influence from Strongholds:"

Some times, the game rewards or takes away X amount of Influence from the board, "in extension of Strongholds;" does this mean that X is the total number of Influence tokens or X is the amount of Influence tokens that each Stronghold's adjacent space is dealt or taken from?  For example, There is 3 amount of Influence gained in extension of Strongholds by the Sauron player.  Should the player put 3 Influence tokens using the extension of Strongholds rules total, or place 3 Inlfuence tokens in every adjacent space a Stronghold has, using the beforementioned rules?

 

 

Thanks for your time!

Lete



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 22 December 2009 - 11:27 PM

LETE said:

Does the Sauron player ever start the game with Dominance or are all the Story Markers (all the factions') set at the first (starting) space in the Story Track?  This came up because it says in the Starting Plot Step of Sauron's setup that the Sauron player must follow the directions in the Starting Plot card.  Rigurously speaking, this may be construed as moving whichever of his marker's affected by the Starting Plot Card up the Story Track.  Or this is boardgame Munchkinism?

Munchkin!

"EXCEPTION: If neither team is dominant, Sauron instead
draws one card and resolves it. This will always be the case
during the first Sauron turn of the game.
" (p. 10)

LETE said:

Also, under the Preparation numeral in the Combat Sequence, for the Hero player:

It reads that the Hero must announce how much Agility he's spending & pick up such number of cards for his "combat hand."  Any unspent Agility is a +1 for the Hero's Strength in combat.  Must the player announce this each time or just by the act of not picking up any cards are his intentions made clear (ie. he may announce his Agility use or not; not required)?  Could this be tonsidered "bad form"?

Should be pretty clear where the Agility goes, if they don't pick up any cards, all points go to Str.

LETE said:

Now, a legitimate question, about "extension of Influence from Strongholds:"

Some times, the game rewards or takes away X amount of Influence from the board, "in extension of Strongholds;" does this mean that X is the total number of Influence tokens or X is the amount of Influence tokens that each Stronghold's adjacent space is dealt or taken from?  For example, There is 3 amount of Influence gained in extension of Strongholds by the Sauron player.  Should the player put 3 Influence tokens using the extension of Strongholds rules total, or place 3 Inlfuence tokens in every adjacent space a Stronghold has, uisng the beforementioned rules?

X is total. Otherwise, you could get the Sauron Starting Plot that allows you to place 9 in extension, times 3 Strongholds, 27 influence on the board at the start of the game.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 678 posts

Posted 23 December 2009 - 11:50 AM

Hey Dam, you're the sh*t!  Thanks for the speedy clarifications!  Have a happy holy daze season (if you care about such things)!

 

L

 

I forget...






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS