Jump to content



Photo

BUNCHA newbie questions


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 02:03 AM

Hello!

 

Playing for a bit now, some things aren't clear, help, please!:

1. On a two player game, the default is: one player uses one Hero & the other one uses Sauron, right? 

Can one player choose to play various Heroes instead?  If this is legal, then, the two player game special rules are void &, the game is treated like a "normal" (more than two players) game, right?

 

2. About the Travel Step, under the Hero's Turn sequence: If one of the "phases" (A: Travel, B: Peril/Combat, C: Exploring), is not chosen as an option (ie. the player doesn't Travel), are all the others void/disregarded?  Clarifying: if I don't want to Travel, then I can't Combat/Peril &/or Explore?

 

 

Thanks!

Lete

 



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 04:48 AM

LETE said:

1. On a two player game, the default is: one player uses one Hero & the other one uses Sauron, right? 

Can one player choose to play various Heroes instead?  If this is legal, then, the two player game special rules are void &, the game is treated like a "normal" (more than two players) game, right?

Yep, default is Sauron vs 1 Hero. We play both 1-Hero and 2-Hero 2-player games, there is nothing really that needs to be adjusted, just play turns in order Sauron, Hero 1, Hero 2, Sauron, etc.

LETE said:

2. About the Travel Step, under the Hero's Turn sequence: If one of the "phases" (A: Travel, B: Peril/Combat, C: Exploring), is not chosen as an option (ie. the player doesn't Travel), are all the others void/disregarded?  Clarifying: if I don't want to Travel, then I can't Combat/Peril &/or Explore?

The sequence of the Travel Step is: Move, Peril/Combat, Explore. If you don't move, you can explore the location you started your turn in, skipping Move and Peril/Combat. Additional Travel Steps will include all three steps.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 03:51 PM

During the "Explore Phase" a Hero is consulting with a Character, but doing so only get the Hero one of the Character's "gifts".  Can the Hero remain in the same spot, explore again & get the Character's other "gift"?  Isn't that a little twisted?

 

 

L



#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 07:48 PM

LETE said:

During the "Explore Phase" a Hero is consulting with a Character, but doing so only get the Hero one of the Character's "gifts".  Can the Hero remain in the same spot, explore again & get the Character's other "gift"?  Isn't that a little twisted?

 

 

L

When you consult with a character, whichever gift you take, the character returns to the Character & Favor Pool:

"When a hero consults with a character, he may do one of
the following"

and

"After the hero finishes consulting with a character, the
character token is returned to the Favor and Character area of
the game board." (p. 24)


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 LETE

LETE

    Member

  • Members
  • 682 posts

Posted 19 December 2009 - 10:22 AM

Hello!

 

Thanks for that - we were playing that last part wrong!

 

 

L

 



#6 Lighteens

Lighteens

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:18 AM

I have some questions and i would like you to answer them if you can

 

There is an event card with green flag in play and we have already placed one favor and one Aragorn character, then a new event card with green flag comes and i discard the previosu event card with green flag and  i leave aragorn character and favor on the board and then i resolve another event card where i place for example theoden and 2 favors?

 

some question will come later in the evening :D



#7 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:40 AM

Lighteens said:

I have some questions and i would like you to answer them if you can

 

There is an event card with green flag in play and we have already placed one favor and one Aragorn character, then a new event card with green flag comes and i discard the previosu event card with green flag and  i leave aragorn character and favor on the board and then i resolve another event card where i place for example theoden and 2 favors?

 

some question will come later in the evening :D

Characters only leave when Heroes consult with them or more rarely from a Plot card (there is one).


"A dirty mind is its own reward."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS