Jump to content



Photo

Gathered List of Answered Questions (Taken from the old Forum)


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#1 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 08 December 2008 - 04:30 AM

At the risk of incurring the wrath of Makabriel and Thundercles I have copied the first portion of the "Gathered List of (Un)Answered Questions from the sticky in the old Forum . These are questions that have been answered by Kevin Wilson or Dan Clark from FFG. Some issues made it into the last FAQ, some did not.

Also, note that knockback does not give anyone MP. It simply throws the target around. The subject can't use the knockback move to, for example, drink a potion.

One last comment: when the hero "comes to rest" after a knockback, he's a valid target for Crushing Block, Pit Trap, Aura damage, pit obstacle damage, and similar effects, so this is a very risky maneuver for a low-health subject.

Can a hero target a square with another hero in it? e.g. If he wants to use "Blast", and the target hero is willing to risk taking damage. Or, if a hero wants to remove the "Sleep" effect token from another hero.
Yes

Can a hero target his own square?
No. (Except via Dark Charm.)

Can a hero making a melee attack choose not to do damage with Power Enhancement results by claiming he is taking the Range result (which then has no effect)?
Yes. He is also not obligated to spend all his surges.

Pits

Pits have no effect on the line-of-sight or line-of-effect blocking abilities of the monsters contained inside them. A figure in a pit has its own line of sight restricted, but figures not in a pit treat that figure normally for purposes of line of sight.

In Descent: JiTD, how many movement points does it cost to move from inside a pit onto a mud space?
3 movement points.

Guard
Can a creature’s movement be halted by a Guard call while it is in the space of another creature? If so, are both creatures now legal targets for a Single Target (Non AoE) attack? And how would damage be dealt?
If the OL is foolish enough to have more than one monster in the same space in front of a hero with guard, then yes, the hero can attack both monsters in that space at once with a single attack. This is a pretty rare case, however, in that it only applies during the OL's turn when he's moving monsters through each other. After all, monsters cannot end their movement on the same space as another monster.

Does the OL have to continue his same course of action when interrupted by a guard action?

The OL may change his mind after being interrupted. (…) the OL can change his mind after being interrupted, (…) treat it as though you did a little 'rewind' to right before he declared an attack. The OL, after being interrupted after declaring an attack, may choose to continue with the attack, change its target, or even not to make the attack at all. (Edited to keep the context of the answer)

 

Reach/Sweep
Can a figure with both Reach and Sweep hit a target through another figure?
Clarification: Can the attacker choose which targets die first in a sweep, thus possibly clearing a way to a further target? (see also LoS)
eg

Can the Master Giant with Sweep and Reach hit all the Beastmen?
Hmm, yes, this is intended to work as though line of sight ignored figures for Reach/Sweep

Leap and Berserk
When using the Leap attack, are Blood Apes affected by Aura? Also, are they affected by abilities such as Alertness and Guard orders, which can be triggered by a figure moving next to the Hero with the ability?If the Ape is affected by Aura when it has Leaped, does it gain the benefit of it's Enrage ability from the Damage taken?
No, No and No

Appraisal
A) Does the Appraisal skill also work on treasure bought in town?
B) How do Appraiser and Bardic Lore interact
b1) if one player has both skills? Does he draw the double number of cards? In pairs?
b2) if two different players have these skills? Do they cancel each other out because if one player draws the cards the other isn't drawing the cards?

A) Yes.
B) The appraiser only benefits his own draws (ie if there's 1 treasure per hero, the appraiser only gives 1 extra draw), then the bardic lore hero divies them up as normal.

Acrobat
A) Can a Hero with Acrobat activate Glyphs, or take treasures (gold, keys) from under a creature that is occupying the same square as the item.
B) Can a Hero with Acrobat open a door in which both spaces in front of the door are occupied by creatures, as long as he does not end his turn in one of those spaces?

A) Yes and B) yes and b1) yes. If this causes a hero to become paralyzed or something due to a trap, simply have the Overlord move the hero to the nearest empty space of the overlord's choice.

Grapple
A)Is a hero with Grapple really intended to keep 8 creatures in one place?
B)Can a fiendly figure move through a space occupied by another friendly figure that is currently being grappled?

A) Yes. B) Yes. Grapple can only hold one figure per space, however.

Rapid Shot
The Hero must immediately spend fatigue to gain another attack using Rapid shot, but must the attack be immediately used, or can a Hero move and then use the attack?"

It must be immediately used.

Leadership
The two half actions given by the leadership card, do they have to be different half actions, or could you "Attack" twice?

Actually, when using the Ready action, you can't select the same half action more than once. The wording is a bit confusing, yes. But you can move, attack, and place an order, or move, place order, and concentrate, or whatever. Just no double attacks or double moves or whatnot.
. Combat

Area of Effect attack and Dodge.
An area attack is made on a group of characters. The attack die are rolled and one Hero uses Dodge. Does the original roll take effect on the other Heroes, or does the newly rolled attack affect all Heroes?

The new roll effects all the targets.

LOS
A) In the instance where you have a figure blocking the Line of Sight of another figure, is that Figure targetable, no matter the circumstance?
eg. Can the Skeleton hit any of these Beastmen?

B) Can LoS be retraced during an attack? Such as with Sweep, above. If the targets can be killed in front of him during the sweep attack, is the target at the rear of the group open to be attacked by the same Sweep attack?

A) For purposes of determining LoS for an attack, ignore figures that are not in LoS themselves.
B) Yes, remembering the ruling on Reach/Sweep from earlier.


The Overlord
Threat and Surges
Do the surges used to generate Threat for an Overlord get spent, or can they be used to activate effects? eg, the OL rolls 3 surges and has the option to use 1 Surge for 1 damage. Can the OL gather 1 Threat and +3 Damage, or only 1 Threat and +1 Damage? Clarified: Can surges used for Threat also be used for abilities?

Technically, you spend the 2 surges to gain 1 threat, so you can't use it for both things. With the Dark Prayer ability, you spend 1 surge to gain 1 threat, +1 Range, and +1 Damage.

The Heroes

“Ending Movement”
There are many instances where something happened when the Hero “ends movement” on a square. Is the Hero required to stop his turn in order to end his movement, or can a Hero continue movement after the effect is complete.

Ending your movement means just that - not moving any more this turn. If you then move more later on the same turn, you didn't actually end your movement. You can still do other stuff like attack after activating a ? marker, you just can't move any more.

 

Traps

Curses
Are the curse tokens that are placed on Heroes able to be removed by abilities (such as with Sahla) or the Cursed Doll? If so, does the removed Curse token refresh only when the item is re-equipped?

Curse tokens are a lingering effect token like any other. Sahla and Curse Doll can both remove them

Can heroes hit each other with kncokback to gain MP - purposely limiting their damage as to not damage the friendly in the process?
Heroes can attack one another. However, the only way they can "limit" their damage is by opting not to spend surges or by spending power enhancement results on range rather than damage. (Or by Aiming, I suppose.) If you roll seven hearts on the red and green die, that's still seven damage dealt to your buddy...

Abilities
Road to Legend Answers!

Here are various answers from Kevin W, and Dan Clark to questions that we’ve come across.

If the Overlord plays RAGE on a Lieutenant during a battle action, how many attacks does he receive - 3 or 4?
Two, actually. "Rage" reads: "Play when you activate a monster. That monster may attack twice during this activation (four times if it has Quick Shot)."
A lieutenant who has declared a Battle action may attack twice during his activation. "Rage" has no further effect - it is essentially granting the lieutenant an ability it already has. A much stronger play is to declare a Run action and then play "Rage," which would allow the lieutenant to move twice his speed and attack twice.

Can the hero party attack multiple Lieutenants and visit a city in the same game week action?
Yes, but they may visit the town only after all Lieutenant battles have ended.

Can spawned monsters in outdoor encounters be activated the same turn or are they treated as reinforcements?
They are treated as reinforcements in all respects. The normal limit of one spawn card per turn still applies. They do not get to move until the next turn

Can a hero place a rest order before entering a portal, and recieve full fatigue when the next dungeon level begins?
I was going to say "no, because moving removes the Rest order," but a careful re-read of the Journeys in the Dark rules revealed that I was in error! I can find no reason why a hero cannot do this. (Although technically, he would not be restored to full fatigue until his individual turn began and would still lose his rest order if he somehow took damage before then.)

What happens to power cards in play during the final battle in the overlords keep?
Does the overlord still gain threat during the final battle in the overlords keep, and if so, what is the purpose of it?
All Overlord cards – including Power cards in play – are discarded as soon as the Avatar appears. The time for tricks and schemes has passed!
Technically, the Overlord still gains threat, but it no longer serves any purpose (so feel free to skip that phase of the turn).

Does Urgency generate threat?
Urgency's discarded cards do not generate threat.

Once the last of the heroes have entered the portal in a dungeon, does the OL receive a turn, or does he immediately begin constructing the next dungeon level?

The overlord immediately begins constructing the next dungeon level.

Can a hero rest in town, or are they restricted only to restocking benefits?
Can a hero take any action before he goes to town after beginning his turn next to a glyph?

This is part of a larger question, which is basically "How does Town and/or Glyphs work?" The short answer is, "no, heroes can't rest in town." The longer answer is below…

A hero who begins his turn adjacent to or on top of an activated glyph has two options: take a normal turn or go to town. If he goes to town, he is immediately moved to the building of his choice and gets to Restock there. No movement points, no declared action – he just Restocks.

A hero who begins his turn in town has two options: Restock again (at the same or a different building) or return to the dungeon. If he returns to the dungeon, he declares a normal action (Battle, Ready, Advance, Run) and then must spend a movement point to move from town to the dungeon, just like normal. If he somehow can't do so (i.e. he Battled and had no fatigue left) then the entire action is canceled and the hero Restocks instead. .

Can the heroes Visit buildings, purchase Tamalir upgrades, or fight lieutenants if the party marker is placed in Tamalir after ending/fleeing a dungeon
No

When playing dungeons in RtL does the OL keep his cards, powers and Threat between levels?

You keep your hand, threat, and power cards for the entire duration of a dungeon. You do not reset those between dungeon levels. I'll have to look at that section of the rules to see exactly what it says, but if it says that you reset every level, it will have to be errata'ed.

How many treasures are given out per treasure roll?

Also, one treasure per blank rolled. Not per hero. Campaign mode is more about making the most of your resources than normal mode is. .

1, How much gold does the party get from a coin pile? 100 total or 100 each still (400)?
2, Can a party still pay to recuperate when in the wilderness?
3, If a party chooses not to enter a dungeon, is it still crossed off, or can they visit it later?


1. 400 coins total.
2. You have to be in town to heal.
3. No. Only if you flee from a dungeon or finish it does it get crossed off.

Since there are only 4 training tokens of each type are the heroes limited in the amount of training they can purchase?
The heroes are limited to the training tokens included in the game. If one hero hogs them all, that's going to be trouble for the party.

Does the Overlord gain Conquest when he cycles through his deck?
When the OL cycles his deck in RtL he does indeed gain 3 conquest.


º Are lieutenants considered an Avatar upgrade, e.g. Can they be purchased before the game starts?
It was not my intention that the OL be able to purchase Lieutenants with his starting free 15 XP. The heroes need a couple of turns to get into the swing of things. So no, you cannot purchase extra Lieutenants to start the campaign.

Soar
Do creatures with Soar also have Fly abilities?

Yes. While outdoors (not while in a dungeon) creatures with the Soar ability have all the benefits of Fly in addition to Soar. Likewise, creatures with Fly retain all those benefits while outdoors, in addition to gaining the benefits of Soar.


Reinforcement Markers

The reinforcement marker isn't used in outdoor encounters, but monsters should be brought in from off the board as per the reinforcement rule.

I hope this helps!

 



#2 Thundercles

Thundercles

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 08 December 2008 - 07:52 AM

So small!  My eyes!



#3 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 02:13 AM

Thundercles!   Good to see you!   I pasted it in at a much larger font but it autosized on me and the forum editing tools don't seem to allow for font size changes, much less color.   Any chance a moderator can up the font on the post a few sizes?

Much Thanks!



#4 Big Remy

Big Remy

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,890 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 02:50 AM

I love it, its like the fine print on a contract!



#5 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 04:26 AM

 

At the risk of incurring the wrath of Makabriel and Thundercles I have copied the first portion of the "Gathered List of (Un)Answered Questions from the sticky in the old Forum .  These are questions that have been answered by Kevin Wilson or Dan Clark from FFG.    Some issues made it into the last FAQ, some did not.   I hope this is easier to read now.   

Can heroes hit each other with kncokback to gain MP - purposely limiting their damage as to not damage the friendly in the process? purposely limiting their damage as to not damage the friendly in the process?


Heroes can attack one another. However, the only way they can "limit" their damage is by opting not to spend surges or by spending power enhancement results on range rather than damage. (Or by Aiming, I suppose.) If you roll seven hearts on the red and green die, that's still seven damage dealt to your buddy...
Also, note that knockback does not give anyone MP. It simply throws the target around. The subject can't use the knockback move to, for example, drink a potion.
One last comment: when the hero "comes to rest" after a knockback, he's a valid target for Crushing Block, Pit Trap, Aura damage, pit obstacle damage, and similar effects, so this is a very risky maneuver for a low-health subject.

 

Can a hero target a square with another hero in it? e.g. If he wants to use "Blast", and the target hero is willing to risk taking damage. Or, if a hero wants to remove the "Sleep" effect token from another hero.
Yes

Can a hero target his own square?
No. (Except via Dark Charm.)

Can a hero making a melee attack choose not to do damage with Power Enhancement results by claiming he is taking the Range result (which then has no effect)?
Yes. He is also not obligated to spend all his surges.

Pits

Pits have no effect on the line-of-sight or line-of-effect blocking abilities of the monsters contained inside them. A figure in a pit has its own line of sight restricted, but figures not in a pit treat that figure normally for purposes of line of sight.

In Descent: JiTD, how many movement points does it cost to move from inside a pit onto a mud space?
3 movement points.

Guard
Can a creature’s movement be halted by a Guard call while it is in the space of another creature? If so, are both creatures now legal targets for a Single Target (Non AoE) attack? And how would damage be dealt?
If the OL is foolish enough to have more than one monster in the same space in front of a hero with guard, then yes, the hero can attack both monsters in that space at once with a single attack. This is a pretty rare case, however, in that it only applies during the OL's turn when he's moving monsters through each other. After all, monsters cannot end their movement on the same space as another monster.

Does the OL have to continue his same course of action when interrupted by a guard action?

The OL may change his mind after being interrupted. (…) the OL can change his mind after being interrupted, (…) treat it as though you did a little 'rewind' to right before he declared an attack. The OL, after being interrupted after declaring an attack, may choose to continue with the attack, change its target, or even not to make the attack at all. (Edited to keep the context of the answer)

Abilities

Reach/Sweep
Can a figure with both Reach and Sweep hit a target through another figure?
Clarification: Can the attacker choose which targets die first in a sweep, thus possibly clearing a way to a further target? (see also LoS)
eg

Can the Master Giant with Sweep and Reach hit all the Beastmen?

Hmm, yes, this is intended to work as though line of sight ignored figures for Reach/Sweep

Leap and Enrage
When using the Leap attack, are Blood Apes affected by Aura? Also, are they affected by abilities such as Alertness and Guard orders, which can be triggered by a figure moving next to the Hero with the ability?
If the Ape is affected by Aura when it has Leaped, does it gain the benefit of it's Enrage ability from the Damage taken?

Yes, yes and yes.

Appraisal
A) Does the Appraisal skill also work on treasure bought in town?
B) How do Appraiser and Bardic Lore interact
b1) if one player has both skills? Does he draw the double number of cards? In pairs?
b2) if two different players have these skills? Do they cancel each other out because if one player draws the cards the other isn't drawing the cards?

A) Yes.
B) The appraiser only benefits his own draws (ie if there's 1 treasure per hero, the appraiser only gives 1 extra draw), then the bardic lore hero divies them up as normal.

Acrobat
A) Can a Hero with Acrobat activate Glyphs, or take treasures (gold, keys) from under a creature that is occupying the same square as the item.
B) Can a Hero with Acrobat open a door in which both spaces in front of the door are occupied by creatures, as long as he does not end his turn in one of those spaces?

A) Yes and B) yes and b1) yes. If this causes a hero to become paralyzed or something due to a trap, simply have the Overlord move the hero to the nearest empty space of the overlord's choice.

Grapple
A)Is a hero with Grapple really intended to keep 8 creatures in one place?
B)Can a fiendly figure move through a space occupied by another friendly figure that is currently being grappled?

A) Yes. B) Yes. Grapple can only hold one figure per space, however.

Rapid Shot
The Hero must immediately spend fatigue to gain another attack using Rapid shot, but must the attack be immediately used, or can a Hero move and then use the attack?"

It must be immediately used.

Leadership
The two half actions given by the leadership card, do they have to be different half actions, or could you "Attack" twice?

Actually, when using the Ready action, you can't select the same half action more than once. The wording is a bit confusing, yes. But you can move, attack, and place an order, or move, place order, and concentrate, or whatever. Just no double attacks or double moves or whatnot.
Combat

Area of Effect attack and Dodge.
An area attack is made on a group of characters. The attack die are rolled and one Hero uses Dodge. Does the original roll take effect on the other Heroes, or does the newly rolled attack affect all Heroes?

The new roll effects all the targets.

LOS
A) In the instance where you have a figure blocking the Line of Sight of another figure, is that Figure targetable, no matter the circumstance?

eg

Can the Skeleton hit any of these Beastmen?

B) Can LoS be retraced during an attack? Such as with Sweep, above. If the targets can be killed in front of him during the sweep attack, is the target at the rear of the group open to be attacked by the same Sweep attack?

A) For purposes of determining LoS for an attack, ignore figures that are not in LoS themselves.
B) Yes, remembering the ruling on Reach/Sweep from earlier.


The Overlord

Threat and Surges
Do the surges used to generate Threat for an Overlord get spent, or can they be used to activate effects? eg, the OL rolls 3 surges and has the option to use 1 Surge for 1 damage. Can the OL gather 1 Threat and +3 Damage, or only 1 Threat and +1 Damage? Clarified: Can surges used for Threat also be used for abilities?

Technically, you spend the 2 surges to gain 1 threat, so you can't use it for both things. With the Dark Prayer ability, you spend 1 surge to gain 1 threat, +1 Range, and +1 Damage.

The Heroes

“Ending Movement”
There are many instances where something happened when the Hero “ends movement” on a square. Is the Hero required to stop his turn in order to end his movement, or can a Hero continue movement after the effect is complete.

Ending your movement means just that - not moving any more this turn. If you then move more later on the same turn, you didn't actually end your movement. You can still do other stuff like attack after activating a ? marker, you just can't move any more.



Traps

Curses
Are the curse tokens that are placed on Heroes able to be removed by abilities (such as with Sahla) or the Cursed Doll? If so, does the removed Curse token refresh only when the item is re-equipped?

Curse tokens are a lingering effect token like any other. Sahla and Curse Doll can both remove them
 
Road to Legend Answers!

Here are various answers from Kevin W, and Dan Clark to questions that we’ve come across.


If the Overlord plays RAGE on a Lieutenant during a battle action, how many attacks does he receive - 3 or 4?
Two, actually. "Rage" reads: "Play when you activate a monster. That monster may attack twice during this activation (four times if it has Quick Shot)."
A lieutenant who has declared a Battle action may attack twice during his activation. "Rage" has no further effect - it is essentially granting the lieutenant an ability it already has. A much stronger play is to declare a Run action and then play "Rage," which would allow the lieutenant to move twice his speed and attack twice.


Can the hero party attack multiple Lieutenants and visit a city in the same game week action?
Yes.

Can spawned monsters in outdoor encounters be activated the same turn or are they treated as reinforcements?
They are treated as reinforcements in all respects. The normal limit of one spawn card per turn still applies. They do not get to move until the next turn

Can a hero place a rest order before entering a portal, and recieve full fatigue when the next dungeon level begins?

I was going to say "no, because moving removes the Rest order," but a careful re-read of the Journeys in the Dark rules revealed that I was in error! I can find no reason why a hero cannot do this. (Although technically, he would not be restored to full fatigue until his individual turn began and would still lose his rest order if he somehow took damage before then.)

What happens to power cards in play during the final battle in the overlords keep?
Does the overlord still gain threat during the final battle in the overlords keep, and if so, what is the purpose of it?

All Overlord cards – including Power cards in play – are discarded as soon as the Avatar appears. The time for tricks and schemes has passed!
Technically, the Overlord still gains threat, but it no longer serves any purpose (so feel free to skip that phase of the turn).


Does Urgency generate threat?
Urgency's discarded cards do not generate threat.

Once the last of the heroes have entered the portal in a dungeon, does the OL receive a turn, or does he immediately begin constructing the next dungeon level?

The overlord immediately begins constructing the next dungeon level.


Can a hero rest in town, or are they restricted only to restocking benefits?
Can a hero take any action before he goes to town after beginning his turn next to a glyph?


This is part of a larger question, which is basically "How does Town and/or Glyphs work?" The short answer is, "no, heroes can't rest in town." The longer answer is below…

A hero who begins his turn adjacent to or on top of an activated glyph has two options: take a normal turn or go to town. If he goes to town, he is immediately moved to the building of his choice and gets to Restock there. No movement points, no declared action – he just Restocks.

A hero who begins his turn in town has two options: Restock again (at the same or a different building) or return to the dungeon. If he returns to the dungeon, he declares a normal action (Battle, Ready, Advance, Run) and then must spend a movement point to move from town to the dungeon, just like normal. If he somehow can't do so (i.e. he Battled and had no fatigue left) then the entire action is canceled and the hero Restocks instead. .


Can the heroes Visit buildings, purchase Tamalir upgrades, or fight lieutenants if the party marker is placed in Tamalir after ending/fleeing a dungeon
No

When playing dungeons in RtL does the OL keep his cards, powers and Threat between levels?

You keep your hand, threat, and power cards for the entire duration of a dungeon. You do not reset those between dungeon levels. I'll have to look at that section of the rules to see exactly what it says, but if it says that you reset every level, it will have to be errata'ed.

How many treasures are given out per treasure roll?

Also, one treasure per blank rolled. Not per hero. Campaign mode is more about making the most of your resources than normal mode is. .

1, How much gold does the party get from a coin pile? 100 total or 100 each still (400)?
2, Can a party still pay to recuperate when in the wilderness?
3, If a party chooses not to enter a dungeon, is it still crossed off, or can they visit it later?



1. 400 coins total.
2. You have to be in town to heal.
3. No. Only if you flee from a dungeon or finish it does it get crossed off.


Since there are only 4 training tokens of each type are the heroes limited in the amount of training they can purchase?

The heroes are limited to the training tokens included in the game. If one hero hogs them all, that's going to be trouble for the party.


Does the Overlord gain Conquest when he cycles through his deck?

When the OL cycles his deck in RtL he does indeed gain 3 conquest.


 Are lieutenants considered an Avatar upgrade, e.g. Can they be purchased before the game starts?
It was not my intention that the OL be able to purchase Lieutenants with his starting free 15 XP. The heroes need a couple of turns to get into the swing of things. So no, you cannot purchase extra Lieutenants to start the campaign.

Soar
Do creatures with Soar also have Fly abilities?


Yes. While outdoors (not while in a dungeon) creatures with the Soar ability have all the benefits of Fly in addition to Soar. Likewise, creatures with Fly retain all those benefits while outdoors, in addition to gaining the benefits of Soar.


Reinforcement Markers


The reinforcement marker isn't used in outdoor encounters, but monsters should be brought in from off the board as per the reinforcement rule.
 


#6 Thundercles

Thundercles

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 07:13 AM

Better, much better.  To be sure, Makabriel is the only one who should care, I never got the go-ahead from him to take over the list and with this new forum software, there's no real way to keep a living list like we did in the past (MODS: PLEASE INCREASE THE "ALLOWED TO EDIT" PERIOD FOR POSTS TO FOREVER?).  Thanks for doing this, I had toyed with copying the whole thing over and I only ever ended up with a tedious, hard to read list.



#7 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 09 December 2008 - 09:41 AM

Thundercles said:

Better, much better.  To be sure, Makabriel is the only one who should care, I never got the go-ahead from him to take over the list and with this new forum software, there's no real way to keep a living list like we did in the past (MODS: PLEASE INCREASE THE "ALLOWED TO EDIT" PERIOD FOR POSTS TO FOREVER?).  Thanks for doing this, I had toyed with copying the whole thing over and I only ever ended up with a tedious, hard to read list.

Yeah... I never got the go ahead from him either, but noticed that many of the questions being asked on these new forums could be answered in the first section of the old thread that Mak and you kept up.  I figured on just copying the questions with known answers from Kevin and Dan just to have here as a reference (since the old forums go poof completely in a few weeks).   I agree that we probably shouldn't try to keep this as a living document any longer- just as a reference.

 

 



#8 Paul Grogan

Paul Grogan

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:28 AM

Well, the text is bigger which is good, but the bright red is very bad and only just bearable to read



#9 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 11 December 2008 - 03:42 AM

Paul Grogan said:

Well, the text is bigger which is good, but the bright red is very bad and only just bearable to read

 

Sorry mate, I can't even edit the thread any more.    I'm really not enamored with the color scheme and editing capabilites of this new forum.   I'm typing in black, but the post ends up in white?    Moderators- any chance you can open up the thread for editing?  I can repaste the post in a different color schema.

 

 



#10 svarun

svarun

    Member

  • Members
  • 116 posts

Posted 25 December 2008 - 04:47 AM

lol if u guys are having problems with reading it just copy paste it into word or something ...

thx 4 posting !



#11 Galvancito1

Galvancito1

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 25 December 2008 - 06:32 AM

Let me add one which is being made ever since the omb of ice got released. "How do the feat cards work in the road to the legend?" And now that we are talking about it... "What happens to Karnon and Arvel (who have a different number of dice and skills) when used in an advanced capaign?"

My guess is:

Feat cards are provided at the beggining of every dungeon first level. Any not used feat card is discard at the end of the dungeon last level. They are not used anywhere else. The number of feat cards provided is the one shown on their sheet, and cannot be changed.

Both of them start the game with one skill (they have more or less to choose from) and their corresponding number of dice. The cuantity of feat cards they get compensates for the difference.



#12 Big Remy

Big Remy

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,890 posts

Posted 25 December 2008 - 03:10 PM

KW came and gave some info on how he currently thinks Feats should work in RtL.  I got the impression that Feats were not originally intended for use in RtL.

Quoting KevinW from that link:

"Jason and I were talking this over, and for now, I'm going to recommend you give them one feat card of the same type as the skill they keep at the start, and then just playing it normally, but carrying the same hand of feats through the whole campaign, drawing one new card each time a glyph is activated. They can still draw feats from any deck corresponding to a skill they have at least a 1 (or an actual skill card) in."

 



#13 Galvancito1

Galvancito1

    Member

  • Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 27 December 2008 - 10:41 AM

Then, what is Karnon disadvantadge? I mean, he has 5 dies at the beggining which he would normally compensate by having one less skill card and one less feat card. Since he starts with the same number of skill and feat cards as the others, what balances him?



#14 Big Remy

Big Remy

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,890 posts

Posted 27 December 2008 - 01:57 PM

Not really sure, I was just relaying what I had read elsewhere.

Someone on here has played RtL with him though, and said the fact that he couldn't add extra dice using fatigue was a pretty hefty disadvantage when they played him if I remember right.



#15 Corbon

Corbon

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,673 posts

Posted 28 December 2008 - 04:26 PM

Galvancito1 said:

Then, what is Karnon disadvantadge? I mean, he has 5 dies at the beggining which he would normally compensate by having one less skill card and one less feat card. Since he starts with the same number of skill and feat cards as the others, what balances him?

He has less options of skill cards. While not as bad as less skill cards, it does increase the odds of him getting a 'bad'  skill from about 3.5% to about 7.5% IIRC. And the odds of him not getting a 'good' skill card (one that increases his stats, attacks or damage) are up at about 40+% (again, IIRC) - which is a considerable risk to take IMO.

Most importantly the inability to add extra dice to an almost-successful attack with fatigue is mathematically an incredible disadvantage, and the one poster who had used him in a campaign seemed to agree with that statement. Personally I would rather have only 4 dice than 5 - its that important! The number of times 1-3 (or 1-6 for a standard 3 dice character) extra damage (or surges) make a difference in killing a monster is far greater than the number of times you can save 1 fatigue by not having to spend for the 5th dice.



#16 Paul Grogan

Paul Grogan

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 28 December 2008 - 09:34 PM

Should I be the one to say this:  This thread should not be a sticky.  It has turned into a general discussion about something else.

Yes there should be a sticky at the top of this about the unofficial answers to questions not in the FAQ, either by notes from Kevin, or general consensus, but it should be locked and only edited at the time a new official/unoffical answer becomes available.

With the forums as they are and little help from FFG, I dont think that is possible however.



#17 Oboewan

Oboewan

    Member

  • Members
  • 296 posts

Posted 29 December 2008 - 03:21 AM

Paul Grogan said:

 

Should I be the one to say this:  This thread should not be a sticky.  It has turned into a general discussion about something else.

Yes there should be a sticky at the top of this about the unofficial answers to questions not in the FAQ, either by notes from Kevin, or general consensus, but it should be locked and only edited at the time a new official/unoffical answer becomes available.

With the forums as they are and little help from FFG, I dont think that is possible however.

 

 

 

Actually.. the thread was intendedo be used as a reference document from the old forum.  I wish I'd asked for it to be locked as well as stickied.

Moderators- could you please lock this thread before it gets out of hand?  (Or contact me and we can work something out where I will repost just the original section without any colors)

Thanks!



#18 Paul Grogan

Paul Grogan

    Member

  • Members
  • 451 posts

Posted 29 December 2008 - 08:33 AM

Or, if we cant do it on this forum, just let me know.  I will put a page on my website of "The unofficial Descent FAQ" and include everything.  That way, unless someone decides to hack into my website, nobody can change it bar me.  It could also be a home to list lots of different peoples house rules.  Only a thought, wouldnt take me long to set up, I would just want to get it right.

I would list everything which has been 'officially' ruled as long as someone can point me to the source, and then include everything else which is just general consensus.

 

 



#19 Siebeltje

Siebeltje

    Member

  • Members
  • 59 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 02:08 AM

What happened to the wiki page of Descent? If I remember correctly, that is a fans-for-fans website and should still be on the air.

No idea where though...



#20 Thundercles

Thundercles

    Member

  • Members
  • 480 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 06:57 AM

Siebeltje said:

What happened to the wiki page of Descent? If I remember correctly, that is a fans-for-fans website and should still be on the air.

No idea where though...

http://descentboardgamefaq.wikispaces.com/

 

a little outdated, though.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS