Jump to content



Photo

Soporific Musk Question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Black Cavalier

Black Cavalier

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:39 AM

Does controlling a figure with the Soporific Musk card make it the Slanneshi player's figure for that turn?  Or does they control it, but ownership remains with the original owner?

I had control of an opponent's cultist using that card, & some affect said something like "kill an enemy's figure".  Could the opponent have killed his own cultist that was controlling for that turn?



#2 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 10 November 2009 - 01:27 PM

It is Slaanesh's figure 100% for that turn.  So Slaanesh can't target it in battle and the original owning player can treat it as an enemy.

 

Slightly off-topis but "soporific" was Dictionary.com's word of the day today.



#3 Vitalis

Vitalis

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 12 November 2009 - 11:33 PM

and what about upgraded khorne cultists? does they lose theirs 1attack when slaanesh takes control of them? its  khorne unit after all but under slani control...



#4 phobiandarkmoon

phobiandarkmoon

    Member

  • Members
  • 287 posts

Posted 12 November 2009 - 11:43 PM

Vitalis said:

and what about upgraded khorne cultists? does they lose theirs 1attack when slaanesh takes control of them? its  khorne unit after all but under slani control...

 

No, you take control of the cultist. The cultist remains what it is in all other respects - so doesn't gain a toughness if Slaanesh has the cultist upgrade and retains the 1 attack if it was an upgraded Khorne cultist



#5 mac40k

mac40k

    Member

  • Members
  • 616 posts

Posted 01 December 2009 - 05:33 AM

Another question. When does the controlled figure attack? Example scenario from last night's game: Slaanesh takes control of an upgraded Bloodletter that can take out figs before they can strike back. Tzeentch also has a Horror in the region. Can Slaanesh use the Bloodletter to take out Tzeentch's Horror before it can attack Slaanesh's figures? Or does Slaanesh have to wait until after Tzeentch goes to have the controlled Bloodletter attack along with any of his other figures?

I argued that Slaanesh acts after Tzeentch due to dial order regardless of whether the figures he is using are his own or those of another player that he temporarily controls. Others argued that the Bloodletter was still a demon of Khorne, regardless of being controlled by Slaanesh and so went before Tzeentch.



#6 phobiandarkmoon

phobiandarkmoon

    Member

  • Members
  • 287 posts

Posted 01 December 2009 - 07:49 AM

mac40k said:

Another question. When does the controlled figure attack? Example scenario from last night's game: Slaanesh takes control of an upgraded Bloodletter that can take out figs before they can strike back. Tzeentch also has a Horror in the region. Can Slaanesh use the Bloodletter to take out Tzeentch's Horror before it can attack Slaanesh's figures? Or does Slaanesh have to wait until after Tzeentch goes to have the controlled Bloodletter attack along with any of his other figures?

I argued that Slaanesh acts after Tzeentch due to dial order regardless of whether the figures he is using are his own or those of another player that he temporarily controls. Others argued that the Bloodletter was still a demon of Khorne, regardless of being controlled by Slaanesh and so went before Tzeentch.

The controlled figure has the abilities it had before it was taken. The Bloodletter strikes at the start of the combat round regardless, then we revert to normal attack order. So yes, the controlled bloodletter could kill the horror before it could strike back, and at the same time as any other Bloodletters in the region

Also  - I assume it was taken control of by the upgraded Keeper of Secrets, yes? Because Soporific Musk specifically states it takes control of a CULTIST



#7 Dumon

Dumon

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 December 2009 - 10:47 PM

What about Corruption Tokens during the Corruption phase?
If e.g. the Slaaneshi player controls a Khorne cultist via Soporific Musk or Changer of Ways upgrade, who gets to place a Corruption Counter in the region? Controlling effects clearly state that figures are controlled until the end of the round...
 
If the above-mentioned Slaaneshi-controlled Khorne cultist would survive until Corruption Phase, he would per definitionem be the Slaaneshi-players cultist, right? 
That means that he can place one more Corruption Counter...
Or is he not allowed to do so, but the Khorne-player cannot place a Corruption Counter for him?
Or can the Khorne-player still place a corruption counter since the figure is, in any way, still a Khorne cultist, although not "Khorne's cultist" at the precise moment...



#8 ColtsFan76

ColtsFan76

    Rules Guru

  • Members
  • 1,040 posts

Posted 14 December 2009 - 12:50 AM

If Slaanesh controls the Khorne cultist, Slaanesh is putting down the corruption token.



#9 phobiandarkmoon

phobiandarkmoon

    Member

  • Members
  • 287 posts

Posted 14 December 2009 - 05:13 AM

Note that it only lasts as long as the end phase, so by the time you resolve hero tokens it's not yours anymore. Otherwise it's 100% yours. You can even summon it elsewhere if you like






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS