Jump to content



Photo

Quick clarifications


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Chyriem

Chyriem

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 October 2009 - 02:56 PM

Quick questions about two cards.

1:  Eleanor's starting quest "Where the Stars are Strange" requires her to 'explore Near Harad or combat the Black Serpent'.  Taken as read she doesn't need to defeat him, just enter combat.  She would complete the quest even if he kills her, is that correct?

 

2:  The peril card "A Shadow in the Background..." says 'If the hero's wisdom is less than or equal to the number of adjacent locations containing influence, he gains 1 Corruption card and loses 1 favour.'  Now, again taken as read, that wouldn't include the location that he is currently in which thematically seems a bit daft tbh, not to mention seeming to go against the idea of the card itself.  That said, would it be possible to get a ruling one way or the other?  Ie, whether the actual location should be added when tallying up locations containing corruption.

 

Thanks!



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,284 posts

Posted 31 October 2009 - 08:07 PM

Chyriem said:

Quick questions about two cards.

1:  Eleanor's starting quest "Where the Stars are Strange" requires her to 'explore Near Harad or combat the Black Serpent'.  Taken as read she doesn't need to defeat him, just enter combat.  She would complete the quest even if he kills her, is that correct?

Yes. The sneakier/wussier way of completing that Quest is to play her "Retreat" combat card at the right time (that is when Black Serpent doesn't play "Charge" or "Aimed Shot"), retreat out of combat, completing her Starting Quest (Sauron still gets to place 1 influence from 1 Wisdom) and possibly rush Barad-Dur the same turn, completing her Advanced Quest as well.

 

Chyriem said:

2:  The peril card "A Shadow in the Background..." says 'If the hero's wisdom is less than or equal to the number of adjacent locations containing influence, he gains 1 Corruption card and loses 1 favour.'  Now, again taken as read, that wouldn't include the location that he is currently in which thematically seems a bit daft tbh, not to mention seeming to go against the idea of the card itself.  That said, would it be possible to get a ruling one way or the other?  Ie, whether the actual location should be added when tallying up locations containing corruption.

There are 2 terms to pay attention to:

Adjacent: every location connected to the current location, BUT current location does not count

Within X space: every location within X of current space, AND including current space


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 Chyriem

Chyriem

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 November 2009 - 12:12 AM

Dam said:

 

There are 2 terms to pay attention to:

Adjacent: every location connected to the current location, BUT current location does not count

Within X space: every location within X of current space, AND including current space

 

Yep, that is what was implied on the card.  I felt it was bizarre enough in context to warrant asking about it though.  Oh well.  Thanks!  :)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS