Jump to content



Photo

Card text: 'Quest. Forced'?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 JayDe

JayDe

    Member

  • Members
  • 113 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 05:57 PM

I'm just wondering if anyone else knows what exactly the 'Quest' part means, eg [DWARF RANGER]: Quest. Forced: After one of your other (dwarf) units leaves play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital. Other cards have Quest written before their actions too, does this mean there is some other requirement to perform these effects?



#2 Duke_of_the_Blood_Keep

Duke_of_the_Blood_Keep

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 06:29 PM

A zone in italics, like on the Dwarf Ranger or say, Keystone Forge, means that the ability or effect that follows only functions in that zone. If the unit is in any other zone that effect does not function. Not to be confused with the Defenders of the Hold which is battlefield only meaning the card can only be played into that zone. Hope that helps. It is in the rulebook somewhere, I'm sure someone will quote a page number.  



#3 JayDe

JayDe

    Member

  • Members
  • 113 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 07:46 PM

Cheers, that answers it - i was half-way though another game & realised what it must mean, and you have confirmed it. That's something to think about...



#4 echtalion

echtalion

    Member

  • Members
  • 81 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 10:26 PM

Just for completeness, when a card states for example 'Battlefield only', as in the case of Defenders of the Hold, it means that you can only play it in that zone, not that the unit can only be in that zone. Namely, you can move the unit to another zone afterwards.



#5 Duke_of_the_Blood_Keep

Duke_of_the_Blood_Keep

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 31 October 2009 - 01:59 AM

Really? How do you figure that?



#6 Guest_Not In Sample_*

Guest_Not In Sample_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 October 2009 - 02:42 AM

From the Rules, PAG 16

"Some cards have keyword restrictions that dictate the
zone into which the card can be played (or put into
play). When these cards enter play, they can only do
so in one of the specified zones. Note that this keyword
only restricts the card when it enters play, it can
then be moved (through card effects) to another zone."



#7 Margalus

Margalus

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 01 November 2009 - 04:10 AM

This helped a lot. I had this issue during the last game and couldn't "decide" what "Quest" meant.

Also, DB_Cooper's explanation proves that you can actually move unites with, for example, "Battlefield Only" with cards like Imperial March ;)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS