Jump to content



Photo

Void Master, Ambidexterous, 2 weapon fighting


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Joshua

Joshua

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 October 2009 - 02:31 PM

Hi all,

I'm loving the game, but I've noticed something that stands out in regards to the Void Master:

I've noticed that at rank 8 they get Independant Targeting-- which seems to indicate that somewhere they gain the ability to use 2 pistols, but in nowhere in their advances do I see the ability to purchase Ambidexterous and 2 weapon fighting.

Am I seeing an oversight here, or is this just a thing the Void Master can do, but just not particularly well.

Thanks!



#2 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,239 posts

Posted 19 October 2009 - 05:18 PM

Actually, any character can fight with two weapons. See pg 246.  Two-weapon wielder talents let you use Multiple Attack actions (Swift, Lightning) to attack with both weapons. Thus, without the two-weapon wielder talent you can only make a single Standard attack at -20 with both weapons (and additional penalty to the off-hand weapon).  If you get multiple hits (such as from semi or full auto) targets can only be selected within 10m of each other.  With Independent targeting, that restriction is lifted.

Of course, there's also the possibility of Elite advances to take Ambidexterity and two-weapon fighting.



#3 Lucius Valerius

Lucius Valerius

    Member

  • Members
  • 208 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:10 AM

I don't have RT yet but maybe it's related to ship weaponry ?



#4 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,239 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 04:40 AM

Lucius Valerius said:

 

I don't have RT yet but maybe it's related to ship weaponry ?

 

 

Alas, no. Independant Targeting applies to firing two weapons in a single attack action, and just removes the 10m distance limitation on whic targets can be should (should you hit multiple targets)



#5 Khouri

Khouri

    Member

  • Members
  • 262 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:25 PM

dvang said:

Actually, any character can fight with two weapons. See pg 246.  Two-weapon wielder talents let you use Multiple Attack actions (Swift, Lightning) to attack with both weapons. Thus, without the two-weapon wielder talent you can only make a single Standard attack at -20 with both weapons (and additional penalty to the off-hand weapon).  If you get multiple hits (such as from semi or full auto) targets can only be selected within 10m of each other.  With Independent targeting, that restriction is lifted.

Of course, there's also the possibility of Elite advances to take Ambidexterity and two-weapon fighting.

While this was true in the DH errata, p. 246 seems to state that only characters with the Two-Weapon Wielder talent are able use two weapons (which must be done with the Multiple Attacks action).



#6 dvang

dvang

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,239 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 02:35 PM

If you look at the bullet points on pg 246, only two of 7 make any mention/requirement for two-weapon wielder talent.

Of main pertinence:

"If the character had the Two-Weapon Wielder Talent, he may use Multiple Attacks combat action to attack with both weapons, but each suffers a -20 penalty ..."

Conversely, therefore, if a character does not have the two-weapon wielder talent, his only restriction is he cannot use a Multiple Attacks action to attack with both weapons.  He can use a single attack action to attack with both weapons.

Thus, someone without the two-weapon wielder talent can fire Semi-Auto or full-auto with two pistols.  That is a Single-attack action. They also get the parry reaction for having a melee weapon in their off hand if they are armed so.

Multiple Attacks action (pg 241) refers to: Swift Attack, Lightning Attack, and the Full Action listed under Two-Weapon Wielder talent (pg 107)  (where you can spend a full action to attack with each weapon, basically two-standard attacks, one for each weapon).

Note that nowhere on pg 246 (two-weapon fighting), nor in the entries for semi-auto and full-auto, does it say that wielding two weapons requires the Two-weapon fighting talent.  The two-weapon fighting talent just allows you to make multiple attacks with both weapons. So, Two-weapon talent wielders will get 1 additional attack compared to non-two-weapon talent wielders.



#7 Khouri

Khouri

    Member

  • Members
  • 262 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 06:54 PM

dvang said:

If you look at the bullet points on pg 246, only two of 7 make any mention/requirement for two-weapon wielder talent.

Of main pertinence:

"If the character had the Two-Weapon Wielder Talent, he may use Multiple Attacks combat action to attack with both weapons, but each suffers a -20 penalty ..."

Conversely, therefore, if a character does not have the two-weapon wielder talent, his only restriction is he cannot use a Multiple Attacks action to attack with both weapons.  He can use a single attack action to attack with both weapons.

Thus, someone without the two-weapon wielder talent can fire Semi-Auto or full-auto with two pistols.  That is a Single-attack action. They also get the parry reaction for having a melee weapon in their off hand if they are armed so.

Multiple Attacks action (pg 241) refers to: Swift Attack, Lightning Attack, and the Full Action listed under Two-Weapon Wielder talent (pg 107)  (where you can spend a full action to attack with each weapon, basically two-standard attacks, one for each weapon).

Note that nowhere on pg 246 (two-weapon fighting), nor in the entries for semi-auto and full-auto, does it say that wielding two weapons requires the Two-weapon fighting talent.  The two-weapon fighting talent just allows you to make multiple attacks with both weapons. So, Two-weapon talent wielders will get 1 additional attack compared to non-two-weapon talent wielders.

My bad, semi/full-auto burst both now allow you to fire two pistols at once with those action. Standard attack allows you to attack once with a weapon you are wielding (as you say you can hold two without a talent - in this case you can choose what to attack with). However, at first glance it would seem you cannot spend a multiple attack action to fire two pistols, each on single shot, without the two weapon wielder (ballistic) talent.

What I am guessing is that you can attack with two weapons using the multiple attacks action, even without the two weapon wielder talent, and that one attack is made at -20 and the other at -40 (TWW removes the offhand penalty) - consistent with the DH errata.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS