Jump to content



Photo

Victory Zones


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 amrowe1999

amrowe1999

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 05:54 PM

I have looked and i noticed these question is not posted here so i thought that I might bring this one up.  Trying to figure out how exactly the victory zones work.  Do they score at the end of the round and only count when if it meets the victory total or do they count each round you hold them.  Kinda like capture the flag(domination) from Call of Duty 4(online).

So this is my example hopefully someone can correct me.

Turn one necromutant ends up on a 1 point command bunker. End of round nothing else major happens legion scores a point.  Turn 2 capitol makes a grievous error in calculations and is left splayed naked for an ezhoghoul to pillage his body all while landing on a 5 point sniper post(Dead bronze capitol figure...Legion scores another point).  Meanwhile on the left flank of the board a ranger makes a daring shot to kill some legion and bags a bronze figure for a point while the last legionaire runs and grabs a 3 point deep cover.  At the end of the round Legion has 8 points worth of victory zones and 1 point froma  kill which wins a skirmish battle, but is the score only 9 or is it 10 since last round they held a 1 point zone last round even though this round they holder of that zone got greased by the passing ranger.

Just trying to get this all straight before i try runing more games and even a league event.



#2 Paptimus

Paptimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 06:30 PM

  The points you get for holding Victory Zones are not cumulative. You only have the points from the zones you are currently holding, and they don't add up each turn. See p. 28 of the rules : "The combined values of all enemy units you have destroyed, victory points you have earned from command cards, and points from victory zones you are holding when victory points are counted is used to reach the victory threshold."

 So in your example, Algeroth would have 9 VP.

 There's a problem, though : Victory zones are not used in Skirmish games  (p. 28 : Note that victory zones are not used in a Skirmish game) ! So Algeroth would only have 1 point (and Capitol too). Victory zones are to be fully used at the 10/10/10 format. There is no rule for intermediate formats like 5/5/5 or 7/7/7 (though you could decide to use only the central victory zone in 5/5/5 games - the first player changing zone would be a godd choice for this central zone, and the central victory zone and the two lateral ones for 7/7/7 games...).

 Hope that helps !



#3 Coral Beach

Coral Beach

    Member

  • Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 02 December 2008 - 07:33 PM

On the old forum, the moderator has stipulated the victory zone points were counted in smaller games even if there is no victory zone counter on it  (the lone exception being the Skirmishe format) :

  • Skirmishe game (3/3/3) : No VZ points nor VZ counter
  • Intermediate game (from 4/4/4 to 9/9/9) : VZ points counted but VZ counter not used (or only at the players discretion)
  • Tournament game and more (from 10/10/10) : VZ points counted and VZ counter fully used


#4 Paptimus

Paptimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:43 AM

 Indeed. It'd be cool if FFG came up with streamlined rules for "unofficial" format, which are becoming the norm... I find it quite strange to use victory zones without victory tokens (since the VP value of the zones is actually what makes it unbalanced to use them in more limited VP threshold games, IMHO).



#5 Deth3327

Deth3327

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 03:47 AM

Even in our smaller games (9/9/9 and less) we use the Victory zones, but do not count the points, but only use the effects.  With the new website and format I am having a hard time finding some things.  Where can I find the format and rules for organized play now?



#6 amrowe1999

amrowe1999

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 06:42 AM

Thanks for the pointing out of the rule I must have miss read the ruling and got c onfused.  Now I do know that you are not "supposed" to use the victory zones in skirmish but we did for the demo to make it go faster. 

Do you just go with last man standing rules then when you play skirmish and are using the demo team from the box?



#7 Paptimus

Paptimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 103 posts

Posted 03 December 2008 - 12:28 PM

   Although there is 9 VP threshold for skirmish games, they most of the time end up last-man standing games, since most of skirmish armies' VP values doesn't even add up to 9 VP, and there's no victory zone...






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS