Jump to content



Photo

Toughness


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 cerebralcortex

cerebralcortex

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 07:55 AM

 I was just reading over the rules again and I noticed something about toughness I think I have been playing wrong.

So if I defend with a character with toughness(1) that has 2 life and my opponent is attacking my kingdom with a total of 3 power. He only has to apply 2 of the power to my character before applying the other one to my kingdom. This is because toughness does not kick in when damage is being assigned.

Is this the way everyone has been playing?
 



#2 Thee Forsaken One

Thee Forsaken One

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 09:43 AM

Yes that is correct. Toughness is just something to protect units, it doesn't make them better at blocking damage to their capital.



#3 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 11:07 AM

Correct. Somepeople think of Toughness as an extra HP. It isn't, it is a form of damage cancel, meaning your opponent can sneak that extra point of damage to your capital and without another card effect, there is nothing you can do to prevent it.


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"


#4 cotguy130

cotguy130

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 12:21 PM

I guess I was doing it wrong.  I thought you had to assign three damage to a 2 hp unit with toughness in order to kill it before you could assign capital damage.

Instead, according to this, all you have to do is assign as much damage as it has hp, and the rest can go to the capital, even though the toughness will keep it alive?

If you want to kill a toughness 1 unit with 2 hp, though, you would have to assign three damage, right?  As soon as you assigned three, toughness would cancel one, so you still have two to kill it.

 

 



#5 cerebralcortex

cerebralcortex

    Member

  • Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 01:43 PM

Yea I was playing wrong at first, but know I read the rules again I see that the dwarfs are not as strong as once I thought.



#6 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 08:46 PM

Dwarves are ridiculous, if they arent as strong as you once thought, I quiver to hear how resiliant you thought thye were in the beginning.

Yes to kill a unit with toughness you must "over assign" damage equal to the toughness rating... and hope they have no tactic or card in play that will prevent cancel one of the damage. 


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS