Jump to content



Photo

A few quick questions


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 A Paperback Hero

A Paperback Hero

    Member

  • Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 05:06 PM

For the card 'Shrine of Nurgle' does the corruption effect happen to all the opponents attackers that are damaged and does this effect only occur to attackers attacking the zone the 'Shrine of Nurgle' is in play in?

Also does damage stick to unit cards once they receive it?



#2 Ruvion

Ruvion

    Member

  • Members
  • 758 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 09:55 PM

A Paperback Hero said:

 

For the card 'Shrine of Nurgle' :

1) does the corruption effect happen to all the opponents attackers that are damaged and

2) does this effect only occur to attackers attacking the zone the 'Shrine of Nurgle' is in play in?

3) Also does damage stick to unit cards once they receive it?

 

 

I took the liberty of inserting the numbers and reformating the questions for ease of answering.

1) I would say yes, because it says "after an opponent's unit." 

Stated differently, it can be written thus: any opponent whose unit takes damage in combat...The key here I think is the fact that the unit has to take damage in combat to be corrupted and not out of it (like from non-combat damage, action effects from tactics or units, etc).

2) I would say no, because there is no mention of such a restriction. The only restriction is that it's a forced effect that only conditionally triggers when the card is placed in the Kingdom zone. Usually a restriction like you mention would contain the phrase: "corresponding zone" (see page 17 of the rulebook). It does not in this case.

3) Corrupted units are treated just like any normal units except that they cannot attack or defend (page 17 of the rulebook): so yes, they can take damage and the damage received "sticks to" the corrupt unit cards.



#3 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 10:37 AM

Ruvion is right on all counts, but one thing was stated which should be cleared up...

StN corrupts any unit that recieves damage during combat, not from combat. So if you can damage an opponents unit from a card effect while combat is ongoing that unit is also corrupted, even if it was not attacking or defending.

The Shrine is a powerful tool in Chaos' corruption mechanic. 


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS