Jump to content



Photo

"target unit or capital" on Empire Quest - Defend the Border


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 rundeks

rundeks

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 03 October 2009 - 05:06 PM

During a game today I had completed the Empire Quest - Defend the Border. The power of the Quest say to "redirect the first point of damage done to your capital each turn to another target unit or capital." Does this mean you direct the first point of damage to one of your opponents units or capital? My opponent thought it wouldn't because the card says "target unit or capital" and his capital was not a target of the original text.

 

Thank you,

rundeks



#2 Thee Forsaken One

Thee Forsaken One

    Member

  • Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 09:47 AM

You can target any unit or capital. If you really wanted to you could target your own units or capital. If you were playing a multiplayer game you could even target a player who wasn't attacking you.



#3 rundeks

rundeks

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 October 2009 - 10:56 AM

Thank you very much.



#4 dormouse

dormouse

    LCG Designer

  • Members
  • 1,680 posts

Posted 05 October 2009 - 10:16 AM

 Notice how there is only one target of this ability. The game is very specific about what is and is not and what does and does not qualify as a target. The word "another" here is showing that your Capital is not a valid target of this effect. IOW you must choose someone/thing else to take this damage when this ability is activated. There are no other restrictions to your choice.


"words are like arrows, once loosened you cannot call them back"





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS