Jump to content



Photo

When does the defender have to play his card?


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 YoshiPL

YoshiPL

    Member

  • Members
  • 136 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 05:57 AM

Hello,

A thing accoured while reading the rules one more time. When does the defender have to play his card?

a) Before his own dice roll?

b) Before any of the dice in a contest are rolled?

 

The FAQ changes the paragraph which should explain it but it's still not clear :/

 

Page 13
Under ‘Using Strategy Cards in Contests’, second paragraph, closing sentence:
 
If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before he rolls his dice in a contest.
 
The sentence should read:
If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before all contest dice are rolled for a contest.
 
What do you think? "all" isn't "any"....

 



#2 Jakews

Jakews

    Member

  • Members
  • 201 posts

Posted 30 September 2009 - 10:04 AM

Part A. Any of your own dice are rolled.



#3 Tim Kelly

Tim Kelly

    Member

  • Members
  • 281 posts

Posted 08 November 2009 - 11:56 PM

YoshiPL said:

Hello,

A thing accoured while reading the rules one more time. When does the defender have to play his card?

a) Before his own dice roll?

b) Before any of the dice in a contest are rolled?

 

The FAQ changes the paragraph which should explain it but it's still not clear :/

 

Page 13
Under ‘Using Strategy Cards in Contests’, second paragraph, closing sentence:
 
If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before he rolls his dice in a contest.
 
The sentence should read:
If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before all contest dice are rolled for a contest.
 
What do you think? "all" isn't "any"....

 It's actually "B".  Although, in attempting the clear the point up, they still wrote the FAQ wrong.  On the first  page of the FAQ, column 2, under "Page 13" we find:

Under 'Using Strategy Cards in Contests', second paragraph, closing sentnece:  "If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before he rolls his dice in a contest."  This sentence should read: "If a player wishes to use a strategy card, he must play it before ALL contest dice are rolled for a contest."

The upper case for the word "ALL" was added by me for emphasis, and to point out it's also the word they got wrong.  If one reads this literally, it would mean neither player would have to play a card until just before the final die of the defender's toss was rolled.  If one substitutes the word "ANY" for "ALL", it all makes sense.

TK

 


"...I was born game, and I intend to go out that way." -- Rooster Cogburn





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS