Jump to content



Photo

New player - random questions


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mikelosaurus

mikelosaurus

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 12:09 PM

Just got my hands on the starter set this week. Have given it a go with a friend but we're not sure if we're playing the game right. Sorryif anyone has asked these questions already.

- During the Battlefield phase a player can only attack *one* Zone of an opponent's Capital card?

- You can defend with the same Units that you previously attacked with? (This is contrary to the logic of both the Cthulhu and AGOT LCGs)

- If you successfully damage the Zone of an opponent's Capital card, we assume that it is not possible to damage any Support cards that are in play in that Zone? You can only remove a Support card with a card effect that targets Support cards specifically?

- If you successfully Burn a Zone of a player's Capital card, does the player still get the benefits of that Zone, or not? E.g. if you Burn the Quest Zone, is that player still allowed to draw cards? Can you still play new cards into a Zone that is already Burning?

- Contested Fortress does not reference the Zone you play it in, so it should be assumed that it prevents damage to *any* Zone in your Capital, regardless of which Zone you play it in?

- Once you've played a Unit to a given Zone, you're not allowed to move that Unit to another Zone in your Capital without a specific card effect?

- There is a reference to the 2-player format of the game on page 2; we assume that the game is not supposed to played in a multi-player format?



#2 Ruvion

Ruvion

    Member

  • Members
  • 758 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 12:40 PM

mikelosaurus said:

 

Just got my hands on the starter set this week. Have given it a go with a friend but we're not sure if we're playing the game right. Sorryif anyone has asked these questions already.

- During the Battlefield phase a player can only attack *one* Zone of an opponent's Capital card?

- You can defend with the same Units that you previously attacked with? (This is contrary to the logic of both the Cthulhu and AGOT LCGs)

- If you successfully damage the Zone of an opponent's Capital card, we assume that it is not possible to damage any Support cards that are in play in that Zone? You can only remove a Support card with a card effect that targets Support cards specifically?

- If you successfully Burn a Zone of a player's Capital card, does the player still get the benefits of that Zone, or not? E.g. if you Burn the Quest Zone, is that player still allowed to draw cards? Can you still play new cards into a Zone that is already Burning?

- Contested Fortress does not reference the Zone you play it in, so it should be assumed that it prevents damage to *any* Zone in your Capital, regardless of which Zone you play it in?

- Once you've played a Unit to a given Zone, you're not allowed to move that Unit to another Zone in your Capital without a specific card effect?

- There is a reference to the 2-player format of the game on page 2; we assume that the game is not supposed to played in a multi-player format?

 

 

sigh...I wish I was also a new player that just got his grubby hands on a Core Set or three.

I'll try to answer your questions in order:

1) Yes, you may attack one zone only (during the declare target of attack step), then after damage has been applied,  your turn as active player is over.

2) Yes...there is no tapping as it were in this game. You are only limited by the attack one zone per active Battlefield phase requirement and hit points obviously. In a multiplayer situation (a hopeful prospect for the future, see below), you can even defend several times with the same unit provided that its hit points hold out.

3) Yes, only units have hit points that can be damaged by an attack during the Battlefield phase.

4) Yes, a burning zone does not hinder your capital in anyway other than bringing you closer to a strike out. The show must go on (after the first burn) until the curtains fall (2nd and final burn).

5) Yes. Remember, just because it is somewhat intuitive that only a card played in a zone should defend that zone, we may even see cards in the future that can defend zones that it is not played in it. Kinda like a card that can attack player A's units and after winning it triggers its ability to kill a unit from player B's board, in a multiplayer game. CCG/LCGs can be quite abstract that way.

6) Yes, the conniving Empire faction has a few cards that can make them mobile. Otherwise you gotta be careful in your placement of cards (not just units obviously).

7)  The rules are built for two player; however, there is a few cards that reference more than one target...thus there is some future multiplayer implications built into the cards themselves....maybe we'll see a ruleset or two.



#3 Hidatom

Hidatom

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 01:27 PM

just wondering...how did you get it? I was under the impression that it wasn't out until October.



#4 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,105 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 01:43 PM

Same question I had.  Apparently my local retailers here in Minnesota (home of FFG) tell me that it goes out to the farther places first, so we're going to be LAST to get it (luckily I got one copy at GenCon via a friend).  BUT my retailer said he expected it next week (Wed, most likely).  :)



#5 mikelosaurus

mikelosaurus

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 24 September 2009 - 11:45 PM

Thanks for the responses guys :)

Hidatom said:

just wondering...how did you get it? I was under the impression that it wasn't out until October.

I could tell you, but then I'd have to kill you... ;)



#6 Wytefang

Wytefang

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,105 posts

Posted 25 September 2009 - 01:49 AM

Oh, don't worry, many of us already have a copy from GenCon but we're just wondering if the shipment that went out to distributors this week has started showing up at FLGS, that's all.  ;)






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS